Results 1 to 7 of 7

I am leaving for Europe in a couple weeks and I have never brought a ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    josephcaraccio's Avatar
    josephcaraccio no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    31a987a7
    Posts
    180

    American BB in Europe

    Advertisement



    I am leaving for Europe in a couple weeks and I have never brought a bb with me on a trip out of the country before. I was wondering what affect this would have on billing and such. I thought I heard that unlike the iPhone there is no additional fees for using a blackberry in Europe but I want to make sure so I don't get slammed with ridiculous data charges. I am going to be in Italy, Turkey, Croatia, and Greece. I have verizon service on a blackberry curve. Do I have to contact Verizon. Any information would be greatly apretiated.

  2. #2
    jwarnoc's Avatar
    jwarnoc no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    305753FF
    Posts
    55
    Verizon's version of the Curve is a CDMA phone that won't work in Europe. The 8830 is their world phone, which I believe you can rent from them.

  3. #3
    josephcaraccio's Avatar
    josephcaraccio no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    31a987a7
    Posts
    180
    Thanks. That's really stupid that it won't work oh well I guess I'll have to do with out.

  4. #4
    Leetneo's Avatar
    Leetneo no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    316D16C7
    Posts
    712
    Quote Originally Posted by josephcaraccio View Post
    Thanks. That's really stupid that it won't work oh well I guess I'll have to do with out.

    Thats what u get for going with a CDMA carrier, if u had AT&T or T-mobile would be GSM like the rest of the world...Cheers

  5. #5
    josephcaraccio's Avatar
    josephcaraccio no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    31a987a7
    Posts
    180
    Quote Originally Posted by Leetneo View Post
    Thats what u get for going with a CDMA carrier, if u had AT&T or T-mobile would be GSM like the rest of the world...Cheers

    Ya in new york T-Mobile has dead zones all over and from what I'v noticed of friends and co-workers with ATT it seems to be the same. I'd rather not be able to bring my phone on vacation but get better service.

  6. #6
    anjwolf07's Avatar
    anjwolf07 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    3038CA9E
    Posts
    22
    I used to live in Europe and one option you could do is by a cheap pay as you go phone. We had one while in Germany (4 years) and it worked all over Europe: poland, austria, czech republic, italy, bulgaria, england, france, etc...

  7. #7
    josephcaraccio's Avatar
    josephcaraccio no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    31a987a7
    Posts
    180
    Thanks wolf. I think that is what I'll do.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •