Results 1 to 7 of 7

Ok so you know when you do a device switch through the Desktop manager ? ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806

    All my BBM contacts seem corrupted

    Advertisement



    Ok so you know when you do a device switch through the Desktop manager ?
    The latter takes care of updating all your contacts with the new BBM PIN right ?
    Well I did that when i switched to my Storm this weekend no worries there.
    Now that I switched back to my 8900, everybody seems to be offline or away ... looks like it didnt update my PIN on people's BBM lists.
    How would I go about fixing this ?

    Im going to try restoring ONLY the BBM contacts from an older backup right now well see what that does...
    Update: Just reloaded the BBM backup file... the people that had a cross on them dont anymore but a LOT of people are still on "away" which is not normal lol looks like everybody is ... will report back
    Last edited by ranxoren; 01-20-2009 at 05:52 PM.

  2. #2
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877
    ^^Maybe everybody IS away?

    I would try an uninstall/reinstall of BBM - then restore contacts.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    nah lol no way EVERYBODY is away :P

    hmm Good call on that. If it does it again ill go down your way.

    Thanks lavagirl

  4. #4
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877
    It that doesn't work, you're backup could have gotten corrupted.
    Might need a one by one re-add of contacts....

    Depending how many there are, that might be rather scary

  5. #5
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    That could be a long process LOL Just wipe your contacts and post on all the PIN threads that you lost your contacts.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    It would have indeed been scary to do this but fortunately the step I took (selective restore of only the BBM contacts FIXED it ! so yeah lava you can close this thread if you want. Thanks for the input ! via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    i've had this issue a few times switching back and forth. i send a message, nothing. i send an email to the person, they send me a message on bbm and we are back in business. it hasn't happened everytime, but it has ... just a fluke, not sure why

    i don't do the device switch anymore. i just switch the sim and load the backup. that works better

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •