Results 1 to 10 of 10

Does anyone know how to add a second language to an 8830? One of my ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    begley1101's Avatar
    begley1101 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    249C2DE2
    Posts
    21

    Add second language

    Advertisement



    Does anyone know how to add a second language to an 8830? One of my clients receives text messages in Portuguese and would like the font to come in correctly so that he can read them. His language is currently set to English (US).
    Thanks,
    Angie

  2. #2
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    You can add and remove languages by using the Application Loader. Once the BB is connected open Desktop Manager and load the Application Loader.

    There should be multiple languages available to add or remove in that list.

    As for being able to convert a language from one to the other, I'm not sure if that is possible unless there is a special 3rd party app for that.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  3. #3
    Don LuiG's Avatar
    Don LuiG no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    649
    You need to have a muntilanguage OS version installed on the computer in order to do this if not when you perform the above instructions it won't give you that option to install it.



    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by Don LuiG View Post
    You need to have a muntilanguage OS version installed on the computer in order to do this if not when you perform the above instructions it won't give you that option to install it.



    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Yes, true. Thanks Don-LuiG.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  5. #5
    begley1101's Avatar
    begley1101 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    249C2DE2
    Posts
    21
    How can I tell if the multilanguage OS version is currently installed? Or where can I find the multilanguage OS?
    Thanks,
    Angie

  6. #6
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    You actually have the latest OS and should have multiple languages.

    If you don't you can get it from here:

    http://www.t-mobile.com/bbupgrade/?A...=SystemUpgrade
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  7. #7
    begley1101's Avatar
    begley1101 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    249C2DE2
    Posts
    21
    What about for Verizon? I'm actually asking on behalf of one of my clients who has a Verizon 8830.
    Thanks,
    Angie

  8. #8
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Hmm well I'm not familiar with Verizon but I was able to find these for that BB:

    http://support.vzw.com/phones/index.html?p=3745

    http://vzw.smithmicro.com/blackberry/default.aspx

    You should be able to update her software with downloads from those pages.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  9. #9
    begley1101's Avatar
    begley1101 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    249C2DE2
    Posts
    21
    Thanks! You guys are amazing! :-)
    Thanks,
    Angie

  10. #10
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Anytime
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •