Results 1 to 13 of 13

i have a 8310 that is locked by password is there any way to reset ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    angel090669's Avatar
    angel090669 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    17

    8310 password

    Advertisement



    i have a 8310 that is locked by password is there any way to reset it maybe a blackberry master password or could i just upgrade the os and it be cleared thank you so much in advance

  2. #2
    DomP's Avatar
    DomP no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5
    I'm sure I'd be asking the obvious, but is there anyway for you to recall that password that was used? As far as I understand, there is no master password. Also there is a chance, depending on how it was setup, that entering the incorrect PW more than several times will completely wipe the unit.
    Unfortunately I can't answer the question well enough, because I'm not certain that a OS upgrade will allow you to bypass this security feature.. you may not have access at all to it. I'd be curious to know the answer myself.
    Best of luck!

  3. #3
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331
    That's pretty much it...if you enter the password too many times incorrectly, the BB will wipe itself and you can create a new password. Usually after an update the password will still remain.

  4. #4
    angel090669's Avatar
    angel090669 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    17

    thanks

    thanks so you are sayn that if i keep tryn to recall the password that it will erase the old one and let me put in a new one and be able to use the blackberry again

  5. #5
    TorturedNacho's Avatar
    TorturedNacho no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    208EB87C
    Posts
    684
    Quote Originally Posted by angel090669 View Post
    thanks so you are sayn that if i keep tryn to recall the password that it will erase the old one and let me put in a new one and be able to use the blackberry again
    Just dont want you to think that it will wipe the password.
    when they say wipe that means the berry will be CLEARED of all DATA and INFORMATION and then you would have to reset and security setting will need to be reloaded .
    Last edited by TorturedNacho; 09-15-2008 at 09:30 PM.

  6. #6
    Brian80's Avatar
    Brian80 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    257
    Yea just like Nacho said you will lose all the information that was on the device plus have to reload the OS.

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian80 View Post
    Yea just like Nacho said you will lose all the information that was on the device plus have to reload the OS.
    No, the OS will remain intact, but yes, all the data, apps, etc will be removed.

  8. #8
    angel090669's Avatar
    angel090669 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    17
    so u are sayn after i install a new os i can use my blackberry again

  9. #9
    angel090669's Avatar
    angel090669 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    17
    and another question just how many failed atempts will it take to make the system to wipe itself out

  10. #10
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331
    Quote Originally Posted by angel090669 View Post
    and another question just how many failed atempts will it take to make the system to wipe itself out
    You don't have to reload your OS. Normally, after 10 bad password attempts the phone will wipe and return to like it was out of the box more or less. I think then it will ask you for a new password. You can then run a restore and get your data back to the BB.

  11. #11
    Brian80's Avatar
    Brian80 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    257
    I thought that it completely got rid of everything including the OS sorry about that

  12. #12
    angel090669's Avatar
    angel090669 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    17
    ok thank you very much

  13. #13
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian80 View Post
    I thought that it completely got rid of everything including the OS sorry about that
    The jl_cmndr wipe will do that, not the handheld wipe.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •