Results 1 to 10 of 10

I have ordered the Curve and my husband is taking over my pearl, can I ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    team_mom's Avatar
    team_mom no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    30429219
    Posts
    60

    2 different BBs - 1 computer

    Advertisement



    I have ordered the Curve and my husband is taking over my pearl, can I sync both on 1 computer? I am using Vista and have set him up with a separate profile on the computer. I didn't know if I could load 2 different DMs or not

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    My wife has the pearl and I the Curve we each have our own profile and haven't had an issue at all. Hope this helped backs up mine on my profile and hers on her profile.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by team_mom View Post
    can I sync both on 1 computer? I am using Vista and have set him up with a separate profile on the computer.
    The real key here is to have the two profiles on the computer as you have. With that you will have no problem. Each BB will sync just fine.


  4. #4
    Charlie Hustle's Avatar
    Charlie Hustle no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    skdck
    Posts
    537
    As bad as i wanted to go that route with my wife. I didnt because its nice for me to know what she has to do for the day and also the same from her perspective. So, yeah, we share the same phone book, and calendar, but its no biggie for us. Also on our pcs we only have two profiles: ours (admin) and guest.

  5. #5
    ice44's Avatar
    ice44 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,060
    Just setup another Email profile and have DM prompt you for what Profile to use when it starts...

    I have done this in the past....but it's by far not the correct way to do it....Like others have said....create 2 different computer profiles...

    if your worried about what she does and goes...just set a password for her profile and make it so she can't change the password....
    The young man knows the rules, and the old man will enforce them!
    __________________________

  6. #6
    ice44's Avatar
    ice44 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,060
    as for accounts...just go to CONTROL PANEL>USER ACCOUNTS> create a new account

    Coming from a IT Administrator, you never want to see people use the default Administrator account or the Guest account

    thats like leaving your keys in your running with the windows down when you go into the store....

    Please people....create accounts....put passwords on your system...if you got a wireless network.....lock it down...but a firewall.....

    it's unprotected systems like this that allow for hackers to steal your identity and gather your personal info...

    trust me....I am a Certified Ethical Hacker ( CEH Certified ) by my company....I get paid to try and hack my companies entire network.
    The young man knows the rules, and the old man will enforce them!
    __________________________

  7. #7
    Charlie Hustle's Avatar
    Charlie Hustle no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    skdck
    Posts
    537
    In the work environment, yes, but at home I don't use the default admin account, but my account is in the admin group. I hate having multiple accounts, also, have two accounts between my wife and me leaving my account open and hers open is a resource hog, especially when its not necessary. Also, I would never store my personal info on my work PC. If you get fired today, the info on the PC is their property. And its not too hard to get access to files, an admin just have to take ownership. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    ice44's Avatar
    ice44 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,060
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Hustle View Post
    In the work environment, yes, but at home I don't use the default admin account, but my account is in the admin group. I hate having multiple accounts, also, have two accounts between my wife and me leaving my account open and hers open is a resource hog, especially when its not necessary. Also, I would never store my personal info on my work PC. If you get fired today, the info on the PC is their property. And its not too hard to get access to files, an admin just have to take ownership. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    In my Network the Default Administrator account is diabled....its the first point of attach...
    The young man knows the rules, and the old man will enforce them!
    __________________________

  9. #9
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by team_mom View Post
    I have ordered the Curve and my husband is taking over my pearl, can I sync both on 1 computer? I am using Vista and have set him up with a separate profile on the computer. I didn't know if I could load 2 different DMs or not

    Thanks in advance.
    I didn't see anyone say it but you don't need but 1 DM for this. I sync 3 BB's (8100, 8120 and 8320) with the same DM all the time.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  10. #10
    Charlie Hustle's Avatar
    Charlie Hustle no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    skdck
    Posts
    537
    Yes just allow everyone who use the pc to use DM.it ask you that during installation. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •