Results 1 to 9 of 9

Had to pull the battery after the phone(Storm 2) locked up. But when the Blackberry ... BB Error Codes forum

  1. #1
    paul_vicmar's Avatar
    paul_vicmar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8

    Unable to load OS on Storm 2



    Had to pull the battery after the phone(Storm 2) locked up. But when the Blackberry logo comes up and the OS starts loading it gets to about 15% and goes to a white screen, where it talks about "blockread...." and then at the bottom in black "reset". It then starts the reload process again until it gets to 15% then the white screen and then restart. I have tried pulling the battery for thirty seconds but the same happens.
    Unfortunately I am not at home, where I have the PC loaded with DM. And will not be back until next week.
    Someone has advised reinstalling the OS, but I am unable to start up the phone.

    http://forums.pinstack.com/f74/using..._dtm_jl-76555/
    There is this thread above - is this a solution to reloading the OS. Any help much appreciated.
    P.

  2. #2
    Mark Stone's Avatar
    Mark Stone no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,335
    Blog Entries
    23
    Good morning Paul! Following the instructions in the link you posted should solve your problem. It's unfortunate that you can't get to your computer for a few days!
    Sammy Galaxy S3, Android 4.3
    Giggle Nexus 7 Tab, Android 4.4 KitKat
    Asus X55A Notebook w/Win8.1
    Come visit the old man! http://markstone.org

  3. #3
    paul_vicmar's Avatar
    paul_vicmar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    Many thanks Mark for your reply. Next week when I get home I shall give it a whirl.
    P.

  4. #4
    paul_vicmar's Avatar
    paul_vicmar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    Mark, is it necessary to wipe the memory using the JL loader, or just go ahead with the instructions as in the mentioned thread.
    P.

  5. #5
    Mark Stone's Avatar
    Mark Stone no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,335
    Blog Entries
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_vicmar View Post
    Mark, is it necessary to wipe the memory using the JL loader, or just go ahead with the instructions as in the mentioned thread.
    P.
    I would, but it's probably unnecessary
    Sammy Galaxy S3, Android 4.3
    Giggle Nexus 7 Tab, Android 4.4 KitKat
    Asus X55A Notebook w/Win8.1
    Come visit the old man! http://markstone.org

  6. #6
    paul_vicmar's Avatar
    paul_vicmar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Mark, is there a thread that explains how to wipe the memory.
    Sorry to be a pain, but not having the phone working has not been easy.
    P.

  7. #7
    paul_vicmar's Avatar
    paul_vicmar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    Have found the answer myself. The program jl_cmder allows you to wipe the memory of the blackberry and then to restore/reload the OS on the device as does the program Blackberry Swiss Army Knife(BBSAK).

    So in conclusion to the quest to find the solution to my problem these threads and web pages have been useful. Feel a little happier about the future of my BB.

    http://forums.pinstack.com/f74/using..._dtm_jl-76555/ - useful thread which explains how to restore the OS using the program jl_cmder

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvseiwef9pk - excellent video which explains the program BBSAK. BBSAK allows you to restore OS, wipe the memory, back up apps and other functions similar to the program jl_cmder

    http://community.blackberrysoftware....ds&showfile=11 - you can download BBSAK from here.

  8. #8
    Mark Stone's Avatar
    Mark Stone no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,335
    Blog Entries
    23
    Excellent research.
    Sammy Galaxy S3, Android 4.3
    Giggle Nexus 7 Tab, Android 4.4 KitKat
    Asus X55A Notebook w/Win8.1
    Come visit the old man! http://markstone.org

  9. #9
    paul_vicmar's Avatar
    paul_vicmar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    So back at home, and I was able to load the OS software using the DM program, following the on screen instructions. Very easy. Restored from back up files address books etc., the only pain is reloading the apps.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •