Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 51

What is the current status of your device? Working? If not what does it do ... BB Error Codes forum

  1. #31
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Advertisement



    What is the current status of your device? Working? If not what does it do when you power up? What does the screen show? If working, what operating system is installed?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  2. #32
    xxooxx0307's Avatar
    xxooxx0307 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    94
    when i put the battery in theres the white screen with the hour glass as if it were restarting but it never gets the homescreen it gets to a screen that says error 523 reset i have os 4.5.0.55 on it and its a 8100

  3. #33
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Well lets start with the steps below from this thread and see where we get....if this does not work I would suggest we wipe the device, but try this first...

    1. Install the desktop software.
    2. Install the handheld software. (If it is a non Vendor software.. exp. T-Mobile. search and delete the "vendor.xml" file.)
    3. Pull the battery out of your device.
    4. With the battery out connect the device to the computer.
    5. Go to Options and select "connection settings"
    6. Select USB PIN this may take a few moments since there is no battery in the device. you might even have to select detect device in some rare cases.
    7. Select the application loader icon.
    8. Select all software you want installed.
    9. Proceed to the end portion untill you see the "Finish" button.
    10. Very IMPORTANT. do not hit the finish button, instead select the ADVANCED button.
    11. Make sure both boxes are checked.
    12. Proceed until it asks you if you want to automatically back up and restore. Select DO NOT AUTOMATICALLY BACK UP MY HANDHELD.
    13. Once the process starts. take care not to bump out the cord and re-insert the battery. Again on some rare occasions you might have to wait until it finishes saying connect to insert the battery.

    THIS MAY FAIL THE FIRST OR SECOND TIME DONT WORRY JUST KEEP TRYING.
    Last edited by GaryF; 01-10-2009 at 10:34 PM. Reason: clean up appearance
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #34
    xxooxx0307's Avatar
    xxooxx0307 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    94
    yeah thats what i usually do when i get error 523 but this time it doesn't work
    first it was because the os files weren't in the app loader to be loaded onto the phone and now it says that a connection cant be established

  5. #35
    xxooxx0307's Avatar
    xxooxx0307 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    94
    i've even changed usb cables and where they're connected

  6. #36
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    As i understand you have already tried those steps? Then I would go ahead now and try to wipe the device with JL_Cmder. If needed, how to and download links are in My Blog.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #37
    xxooxx0307's Avatar
    xxooxx0307 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    94
    yeah i've already tried that numerous times..i have gotten that error so many times and everytime i've been able to reload the os

  8. #38
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Quote Originally Posted by xxooxx0307 View Post
    yeah i've already tried that numerous times..i have gotten that error so many times and everytime i've been able to reload the os
    Sorry, you mean you already tried to java wipe the device or you already tried the steps in N8's thread?

    Also I see Cowboy had suggested you try to install your prior OS, did you try that with the same results?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #39
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Also please confirm does the install start and then fail, or are you not able to establish a connection at all?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #40
    xxooxx0307's Avatar
    xxooxx0307 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    94
    java wipe and n8's thread and i got the same results with the prior os

  11. #41
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Also please confirm does the install start and then fail, or are you not able to establish a connection at all?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  12. #42
    xxooxx0307's Avatar
    xxooxx0307 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    94
    i still can't establish a connection and i restarted my computer to see if it helps

  13. #43
    xxooxx0307's Avatar
    xxooxx0307 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    94
    i get this error using dm and app loader from rim folder: A connection to the device could not be established. Please ensure that the device is properly connected to the cradle or USB cable, and that the cradle or USB cable is connected securely to your computer. Also ensure that the device has completed any startup operations. Then run the Application Loader Wizard again.

  14. #44
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Sounds like you have covered most of the bases. If you are on a laptop, have you verified your power managment settings are disabled? If you do a battery pull/replace and the re-connect to your PC just as the LED comes on sometimes that will do it. Otherwise I would do a clean uninstall of all RIM software. Remove all OS installs using Control Panel, and remove Desktop Manager using the steps found here:

    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/micro...200%2020580460

    Then install ONLY the device software you want and try the Loader app again.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  15. #45
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Just a thought but would a low battery on the device effect anything?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •