Page 64 of 68 FirstFirst ... 59606162636465666768 LastLast
Results 946 to 960 of 1016

on step 9 i see the finish button but there is no advanced button... Handheld Guides forum

  1. #946
    pimplay2's Avatar
    pimplay2 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    7

    Advertisement



    on step 9 i see the finish button but there is no advanced button

  2. #947
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by pimplay2 View Post
    on step 9 i see the finish button but there is no advanced button
    Just click finish.

  3. #948
    pimplay2's Avatar
    pimplay2 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    7
    i switched to my other computer

    hopefully it works on this one

  4. #949
    PrinceJNYC's Avatar
    PrinceJNYC no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    8

    Computer not Detecting Device - JVM Error 513

    I'm encountering a JVM Error 513 on my Curve, so of course I looked and noticed that I need to reinstall the Blackberry OS.

    I've spent several hours on this already with 3 different machines with no luck.

    At Step 6 of the process, I do not see USB-PIN... I only see USB, and if I try to detect, then it doesn't find the device.

    I tried using JL_Commander, using Loader.exe /nojvm None of it seems to see the device. I've tried 3 different computers, multiple USB ports. Still no luck.

    On my old old ancient XP PC, I received a message saying Power Surge on USB port and hear the clicking USB sounds, so I know it's trying to detect it. On my other PCs, I don't even hear the clicking sounds.

    What else can I try??? I'm all out of ideas.

  5. #950
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by PrinceJNYC View Post
    I'm encountering a JVM Error 513 on my Curve, so of course I looked and noticed that I need to reinstall the Blackberry OS.

    I've spent several hours on this already with 3 different machines with no luck.

    At Step 6 of the process, I do not see USB-PIN... I only see USB, and if I try to detect, then it doesn't find the device.

    I tried using JL_Commander, using Loader.exe /nojvm None of it seems to see the device. I've tried 3 different computers, multiple USB ports. Still no luck.

    On my old old ancient XP PC, I received a message saying Power Surge on USB port and hear the clicking USB sounds, so I know it's trying to detect it. On my other PCs, I don't even hear the clicking sounds.

    What else can I try??? I'm all out of ideas.
    First what DM are you using. Second is the OS you want to install the only one on the PC you are attempting to use and third have you gone to c/program files/ common files/ research in motion/app loader and clicked on the loader file and attempted to run it from there?
    Last edited by moderncowboy; 12-11-2008 at 03:06 AM.

  6. #951
    PrinceJNYC's Avatar
    PrinceJNYC no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    First what DM are you using. Second is the OS you want to install the only one on the PC you are attempting to use and third have you gone to c/program files/ common files/ research in motion/app loader and clicked on the loader file and attempted to run it from there?
    I've tried DM 4.6, 4.3, and even 4.2 that came originally with the phone.

    Yes, the OS I'm trying to install is the only one on the PC:
    8300M_PBr4.2.2_rel301_PL2.4.0.73_A4.2.2.166_AT&T.e xe

    Yes, I have tried running the Loader.exe /nojvm manually, and nothing shows up under Connections.

    So, I have a problem with the PC recognizing the device I believe. I'm of course, trying this with the battery out. With the battery in, I have the JVM 513 white error screen, and still not detected by PC or DM.

  7. #952
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by PrinceJNYC View Post
    I've tried DM 4.6, 4.3, and even 4.2 that came originally with the phone.

    Yes, the OS I'm trying to install is the only one on the PC:
    8300M_PBr4.2.2_rel301_PL2.4.0.73_A4.2.2.166_AT&T.e xe

    Yes, I have tried running the Loader.exe /nojvm manually, and nothing shows up under Connections.

    So, I have a problem with the PC recognizing the device I believe. I'm of course, trying this with the battery out. With the battery in, I have the JVM 513 white error screen, and still not detected by PC or DM.
    What I would try is to uninstall DM as well as the OS and then go to c/program files/common files and then delete RIM folder. Reboot and reinstall. Reboot and try again. Doing so with the battery in..
    Last edited by moderncowboy; 12-11-2008 at 03:40 AM.

  8. #953
    PrinceJNYC's Avatar
    PrinceJNYC no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    What I would try is to uninstall DM as well as the OS and then go to c/program files/common files and then delete RIM folder. Reboot and reinstall. Reboot and try again. Doing so with the battery in..
    Still no go. I was able to sync before with this computer, and I just wanted to wipe away my contacts/mail to a clean BlackBerry, now I've bricked it.

    So, everyone's able to have the Blackberry recognized without the battery? That seems odd that the phone can still connect without the battery in. I guess there's still power from the USB cord.

    I'll see if I can try it on another computer that I have later on today. I'm running out of ideas though.

  9. #954
    PrinceJNYC's Avatar
    PrinceJNYC no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    8
    When you guys plug in the BlackBerry without the battery. Do you hear the normal USB tones from the PC when you plugin a USB device?

  10. #955
    PrinceJNYC's Avatar
    PrinceJNYC no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    8
    I just tried it on yet another machine. The same issue came up about the USB device exceeded the limits. I am connecting directly into the PC. This is on Windows XP. I have dual-boot on this box, so I tried Vista. Vista doesn't complain at all, but it just doesn't do anything. I noticed on Vista, if I plug into a plug that is next to another device already plugged in, then it will pretty much disable that other device as well. So, those 2 plugs must be an internal hub, and Vista is disabling it when I plug the Blackberry in.

    This totally sucks. So, I'm guessing the PC does realize something is plugged in, but the Blackberry is drawing too much power that the USB port gets disabled. Because the USB port is disabled, then Desktop Manager doesn't find the device and USB-PIN does not show up. Therefore, I can't use AppLoader to load the OS and get back my phone.

    What a piece of crap. You would think Blackberry and Windows would be better than this.

    Anyone have any other ideas to try?

  11. #956
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Prince,

    I am trying to catch up with your status and what you have tried. Can you describe the current state of your device?

    As for Desktop Manager, I am running DM 4.5 on an XP machine without issue.
    With all of these problems, I would probably consider a start from scratch by completely removing DM from your desktop using the following info:

    Perform a clean uninstall of BlackBerry Desktop Software

    After that you can reinstall 4.3 or 4.5 (your choice) and we can try again to get you running.

    Another idea you may consider is the online BB Update Engine. It does not appear to require DM or the OS be installed on your machine, and I am told it works on wiped devices. Follow this link if you wish to try it:

    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/update/

    <edit>

    Prince I need to step out for a bit but will check back on this thread shortly....
    Last edited by GaryF; 12-11-2008 at 04:48 PM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  12. #957
    PrinceJNYC's Avatar
    PrinceJNYC no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Prince,

    I am trying to catch up with your status and what you have tried. Can you describe the current state of your device?

    As for Desktop Manager, I am running DM 4.5 on an XP machine without issue.
    With all of these problems, I would probably consider a start from scratch by completely removing DM from your desktop using the following info:

    After that you can reinstall 4.3 or 4.5 (your choice) and we can try again to get you running.

    Another idea you may consider is the online BB Update Engine. It does not appear to require DM or the OS be installed on your machine, and I am told it works on wiped devices. Follow this link if you wish to try it:

    <edit>

    Prince I need to step out for a bit but will check back on this thread shortly....
    I did a clean uninstall following the directions as well as install on to a brand new fairly clean XP machine. The issue is when I plugin the phone via USB, the computer is either NOT recognizing the device or it's giving me the Device has exceeded the power limits error on the task bar. So, I can never get to the AppLoader connection in DM. I've tried DM 4.2, 4.3, and 4.6. I have not try 4.5.

    I'm now trying the BB Update Engine now. I doubt that it'll work since the device is not seen by the PC. I'm going to try my friend's PCs tonight. He says he has 2 desktops I can try.

    Phone with battery in currently has a white screen and small error saying JVM Error 513 with Reset below it highlighted. I select reset, it just reboots and shows the same screen.

  13. #958
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Noted. The 513 definitely calls for an operating system install.

    If you are indeed having usb/power issues the next error we may encounter is the dreaded "cannot connect during multi stage load operation".

    This is a strange error issue, and the fact that it seems to be occurring on more than one machine (if I read correctly) may also point us to look at hardware issues. One suggestion would be to try with a different battery if available...In the meantime I will do some research on this and wee if I come up with anything.

    Post back any updates.

    EDIT - Have you tried a different USB Cable?
    Last edited by GaryF; 12-11-2008 at 05:33 PM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  14. #959
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Prince,

    Another thought. You may want to reinstall your USB drivers. You should be able to download here:

    https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...93E4F3BB068C22
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  15. #960
    PrinceJNYC's Avatar
    PrinceJNYC no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    8

    Power Surge On Hub Port

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Prince,

    Another thought. You may want to reinstall your USB drivers. You should be able to download here:

    Tried reinstalling just the USB Drivers. Still no go. By the way, the USB Drivers were included in the Desktop Manager install as well I believe.

    The error when I plugin the device is a USB Root Hub icon in the task bar. When click on it, it says Power Surge On Hub Port - A USB device has malfunctioned and exceeded the power limits of its hub port. You should disconnect the device. Under Recommendation, it says To reenable the port, disconnect the hardware and click Reset. If you click Close, the port will no longer function.

    I'm doing this on a laptop as well as a desktop that never had any Blackberry software installed on it at a friend's house. First I tried it on an old ancient Windows 2000 box, and it gave me the Power Surge error after the DM and OS Software install. Then, I tried on a XP Laptop and same thing.

    So, so far I've tried it on my 2 desktop and 2 laptops, my friend's desktop and laptop. On Vista, XP and 2000. I've installed Desktop Manager 4.2, 4.3, and 4.6. I've tried JL_Cmder to see if it'll connect as well as AppLoader.exe /nojvm to run AppLoader manually. All have failed because the USB device is not being recognized or the Power Surge error when plugging in the device.

    I have tried differet USB cables as well. As well as even plugging it into a Powered USB hub, and I still get the Power Surge error. How much power is it trying to draw?

    Without the USB connectivity. I'm out of luck trying to reinstall the OS.

LinkBacks (?)


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •