Page 60 of 68 FirstFirst ... 5556575859606162636465 ... LastLast
Results 886 to 900 of 1016

Remove the 4.6 and go back to an earlier version of DM and see if ... Handheld Guides forum

  1. #886
    BES Noob's Avatar
    BES Noob no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    3,695

    Advertisement



    Remove the 4.6 and go back to an earlier version of DM and see if that helps. I've had problems with 4.6 myself and downgraded back to the 4.3 manager and it was a world of a difference for me.

  2. #887
    dallas1125's Avatar
    dallas1125 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576E92F
    Posts
    1,610
    Thanks for the How to! Real helpful!

  3. #888
    tdscott's Avatar
    tdscott no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    5
    WOOHOO!

    My BB has returned.

    Quote Originally Posted by BES Noob View Post
    Remove the 4.6 and go back to an earlier version of DM and see if that helps. I've had problems with 4.6 myself and downgraded back to the 4.3 manager and it was a world of a difference for me.
    I did this and it didn't appear that DM 4.3 acknowledged the device, because at the bottom where it says "PIN: xxxx" was just "None". I tried everything to get it to display my device as connected... I went to Connection Options and had it detect my device; it was successful, but it still said "None" and "Disconnected". I finally just said whatever and clicked on Application Loader and... hey look, it's connected after all. So I proceeded to install the OS. I would like to mention, however, that all of this only happened after I tried it with the battery in.
    And now it works again.

    Also, DM 4.3 now recognizes and displays my device normally.

    However, I still am unable to synchronize (as before, with 4.6, before I had wiped the device)... it gives me that "Your computer must be connected to the Internet in order to initially configure synchronization settings. Please ensure that you are able to connect to the Internet and try again" message.

  4. #889
    modcar's Avatar
    modcar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1
    WOOHOO!!!

    Thanks so much, worked a treat second time!

    I have bookmarked this topic so I can refer friends here

  5. #890
    rarere's Avatar
    rarere no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    30
    I need help, i was installing new OS for my 8320 and the connection was interrupted part way through. Blackberry not able to turn on or anything
    Was referred to this thread, tried all the steps, seems to work until the "wait for device initalization" once it gets here the BB connects and reconnects continuously
    It finally stops and i am shown this "Unable to reconnect to the device during a multi stage loading operation"
    Have tried several times
    Can anyone help me please?
    Thanks in advance

  6. #891
    rarere's Avatar
    rarere no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    30
    and how can i do this on a pc that my BB was never connected to before. The DM installs fine but the OS does not show up when it comes to installing it on the BB.
    Any help would be great, this is the 2nd time it has happened

  7. #892
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Quote Originally Posted by rarere View Post
    and how can i do this on a pc that my BB was never connected to before. The DM installs fine but the OS does not show up when it comes to installing it on the BB.
    Any help would be great, this is the 2nd time it has happened

    In order to install a new device operating system you need to do the following before the application loader will recognize the new software for your device...

    1. Download an operating system for your specific device (8300 OS will not work on an 8320, etc)
    2. Install the OS on your desktop (the file you downloaded is the installer, execute that file to install on your desktop)
    3. IF the new OS is not from your carrier, find and delete the vendor.xml file (located here C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader)

    Now, with your device connected either launch Desktop Manager, Application Loader, or launch the Loader app located in the Research In Motion folder mentioned in step #3.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #893
    rarere's Avatar
    rarere no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    30
    Even on the new pc i am having the same problem, BB connects and reconnect continuously at the waiting for device initialization. Should i try installing the old OS or should this not make any difference. I do not understand why it will hold its connection to this point and then stop

  9. #894
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Have you tried a Java Wipe? If you need help with this click on My Blog and follow the link on using JL_Cmder.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #895
    rarere's Avatar
    rarere no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    30
    I am using vista on the new pc and JL_Cmder does not seem compatible. Should it work on this?

  11. #896
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    JL Cmder works fine with Vista...suggest you try again....or post back exactly what issues you are having.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  12. #897
    rarere's Avatar
    rarere no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    30
    okay got it installed properly
    1st issue, when BB plugged in, it keeps connecting and disconnecting itself
    only way to stop this is by using the DM, and go into app loader, when it makes the connect noise it shows as "USB-PIN: UNKNOWN" i can click next and it hold connection.
    When i try use JL Cmder i go through all the steps and then when i press enter the red screen flashes quickly and returns back to the main page, i looks at the event log and it says unable to open port.
    I tried running it while the connection was stable as i mentioned above, still wont work.
    will start to run the reinstall until the "waiting for device initailization" It then breaks connection, connects and disconnects continuously and then i am faced with "Unable to reconnect to the device during a multi stage loading operation"
    Is there any hope for me?

  13. #898
    rarere's Avatar
    rarere no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    30
    That link is to this thread...
    It seems as though i am doing all the steps needed, but the proper connection just isn't there. Others have had this exact same issue but have been able to resolve it.
    I get through the "load JVM and system software", but then loses connection at the "wait for device initialization" which to me, doesn't make sense

  14. #899
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    rarere,

    Just to be sure, you are having the exact same issue on 2 different desktop machines? Is this correct?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  15. #900
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    ^^ unfortunately, it may take several tries and more patience keep trying, don't give up.

    placing the battery back in during that specific time is very crucial to the how to

LinkBacks (?)


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •