Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hello. I have been researching this on the web but wanted to see if anyone ... IT & Business Pros forum

gritsinct no está en línea Stack level 4
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me

Question Microsoft or Cisco cert?

Advertisement

Hello. I have been researching this on the web but wanted to see if anyone had first-hand knowledge to give me. Since I come to Pinstack often, this was my first thought.

To give a quick background, I work in IT for an audio/visual company that is branching out to digital signage and video on demand. I have been installing these systems for almost a year now and have only ever run across Microsoft networks at customer sites. My boss just came back from InfoComm conference with the idea that I get certified in Cisco. (He's not knowledgeable in IT so he obviously got this from something he heard at InfoComm but can't give me any specific reasons )

I love the idea that he's going to pay for my cert, but to me it would make more sense to get the MCSE or something from Microsoft since that is so dominant in our market! I'm perfectly happy to get the Cisco cert but want to go with what would be most useful.

When installing these systems I set up a server running Microsoft server software, but I do need to learn a lot more about switches and routers - perhaps that is where Cisco comes in?

Can anyone give me any thoughts or experiences? Thanks!

shadowslevin2 no está en línea Stack level 1
    PIN/ID
    2469B394
    I was in the same spot a year ago, MCSC or CCNA. I'm in the Dallas TX market and as far as which one I choose, CISCO!!!!