Results 1 to 11 of 11

OK now it might just be lack of sleep or me being an idiot ... ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    skinhead81's Avatar
    skinhead81 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    254523AC
    Posts
    89

    What Am I Missing???

    Advertisement



    OK now it might just be lack of sleep or me being an idiot ... but ... I'm trying to update my OS so I downloaded the latest from Blackberry, installed via the .exe and ran DM (after deleting the vendor.xml file!). Nothing happened. No updates. No software. So, I considered the option that maybe the one I downloaded was an "older" OS and downloaded the new 4.5 Beta. Did a successful back up, ran the .exe, started up DM and .... nothing!
    Any help all ..................

    PS .... the only reason I'm doing this is because BB Media Player keeps crashing my handset and I've been informed the only way to fix this is by installing a new OS.

    I have a Red 8310 on O2-UK and have installed countless OS versions on my 8700 and 8100 handsets in the past so I really hope someone, somewhere can help with this.

    Thanks all
    "Pain Is Weakness Leaving The Body"

  2. #2
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    OK---did you run the app loader, or just start the DM? (silly question, but have to ask)....restart your computer and try again

    Also---the OS you downloaded---it's for your phone right? You have the 8310's OS...not the 8300 or the 8320?
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  3. #3
    tylerscott20's Avatar
    tylerscott20 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    24411101
    Posts
    122
    Did you delete the vendor.xml file???

  4. #4
    skinhead81's Avatar
    skinhead81 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    254523AC
    Posts
    89
    Quote Originally Posted by skinhead81 View Post
    OK now it might just be lack of sleep


    I deleted the vendor.xml before installing the new OS forgetting that it was going to dump a brand new one in it's place.
    Thanks both for your responses.
    "Pain Is Weakness Leaving The Body"

  5. #5
    chadzworld's Avatar
    chadzworld no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    2464E6DD
    Posts
    39
    Did you make sure all versions of other OS's are removed from your pc? If not you need to remove them and start over.

  6. #6
    Medic's Avatar
    Medic no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    466
    Quote Originally Posted by ItsNowOrNever View Post
    OK---did you run the app loader, or just start the DM? (silly question, but have to ask)....restart your computer and try again

    Also---the OS you downloaded---it's for your phone right? You have the 8310's OS...not the 8300 or the 8320?

    everytime i have installed a new OS to the computer, the first time i open DM and have my device connected, it automatically tells me my software needs to be updated. i dont need to open the app loader bc it does it by itself
    Sorrow is tranquility remembered in emotion.

  7. #7
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331
    Quote Originally Posted by Medic View Post
    everytime i have installed a new OS to the computer, the first time i open DM and have my device connected, it automatically tells me my software needs to be updated. i dont need to open the app loader bc it does it by itself
    Doesn't always happen this way. I have several times had to start the apploader for the new os to be recognized.

  8. #8
    lexo's Avatar
    lexo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    259
    Quote Originally Posted by skinhead81 View Post
    OK now it might just be lack of sleep or me being an idiot ... but ... I'm trying to update my OS so I downloaded the latest from Blackberry, installed via the .exe and ran DM (after deleting the vendor.xml file!). Nothing happened. No updates. No software. So, I considered the option that maybe the one I downloaded was an "older" OS and downloaded the new 4.5 Beta. Did a successful back up, ran the .exe, started up DM and .... nothing!
    Any help all ..................

    PS .... the only reason I'm doing this is because BB Media Player keeps crashing my handset and I've been informed the only way to fix this is by installing a new OS.

    I have a Red 8310 on O2-UK and have installed countless OS versions on my 8700 and 8100 handsets in the past so I really hope someone, somewhere can help with this.

    Thanks all
    i don't think it's lack of sleep!lolJ/k this actualy also happend to me and it ended up being a bad os that the media manager never recognized so maybe try downloading it from another place hope thiz helps!

  9. #9
    Medic's Avatar
    Medic no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    466
    Quote Originally Posted by DCookSta View Post
    Doesn't always happen this way. I have several times had to start the apploader for the new os to be recognized.

    but what version of dm are you using?
    Sorrow is tranquility remembered in emotion.

  10. #10
    mcawthon2004's Avatar
    mcawthon2004 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    313d77b4
    Posts
    193
    yeah im experiencing the same thing cause i was at 4.2 and downloaded the 4.3 from the bb site and installed and it doesnt say update needed so now i am installing the 4.5os to see if it will work but just wondering if i am doing everything right

  11. #11
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331
    Quote Originally Posted by Medic View Post
    but what version of dm are you using?
    4.2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •