Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 80

sean ~ follow the thread instructions I linked above in post #56 (How to OS ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #61
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877

    Advertisement



    sean ~ follow the thread instructions I linked above in post #56 (How to OS upgrade) and it will tell you exactly how to delete the vendor.xml file.

    Be sure to download and install the OS to your PC first.
    You also must have DM installed (link I gave you) as Roger said.

  2. #62
    DakotaRider's Avatar
    DakotaRider no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2
    Newbie here, reading the threads and trying to catch on. Is there a reason that all the providers (AT&T in my case) don't provide an updated OS for my 8310? I am running on 4.2.2.170 and see that my model supports a 4.5.0.81 but AT&T doesn't offer that.

  3. #63
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    hi DakotaRider, welcome to the stacks!

    ATT has been a little slow, you are right. not sure when they will be releasing the official 4.5

    if you are feeling adventurous, you could download ANY carrier OS. it doesn't have to be ATT.

  4. #64
    DakotaRider's Avatar
    DakotaRider no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2

    Lightbulb

    Thanks for the welcome cherrichiodo,

    If I download from another carrier, I stand to lose some of the current features though, correct?

    Can anyone tell me what?
    AT&T?
    Someone who has compiled a list on Pinstack?

    As I read through, do I understand correctly that I will need to upgrade both, my BB OS and my BB desktop software? AT&T has newer versions of the desktop software out now than what I am running, but they don't include "Roxio Media Manager" I would suppose that I could continue to use the exisiting version of that with the newer desktop suite.

  5. #65
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Dakota,

    You can get the latest version of Desktop Manager directly from RIM here.

    As for the device OS, the carrier doesn't matter. Features are the same across the spectrum, so no, you won't lose anything by using another carrier's version of the OS.

    Hope this helps!
    Roger

  6. #66
    scottrill's Avatar
    scottrill no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1
    I am trying to load the latest OS for the BB 8330. I received the dreaded JVM 102 error.
    I have run the JL_Cmder and wiped out the files but cannot get the correct OS to load foiles back to the BB. Any ideas?

  7. #67
    Flyer's Avatar
    Flyer no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    20524959
    Posts
    30
    My carrier isn't upgrading anything. I got tired paying and waiting so went to RIMs website and the rest is easy upgrading without all of this messing about manually deleting vendor files then trying to manually fix the fallout from this. Life is too short. We get 4000 weeks if live until your're 80! I've got a blackberry to SAVE TIME & MAKE MONEY

  8. #68
    ashdub01's Avatar
    ashdub01 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    2460d307
    Posts
    256
    Is there an official update for the 8100 pearl? I've seen official updates for every other bb. I found an update for an 8120, would it matter if I used that on my phone? I have a 8100 with TMO btw
    **Ashmee**

  9. #69
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    ashdub,

    There is an official update for your device, just not from TMO. You can find it here.

    Follow the instructions for upgrading in the FAQ link in my signature and you'll be up and running in no time!

  10. #70
    icebox's Avatar
    icebox no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1
    Somebody Help Me!!!!!!!

    I can't find the java commander. Can somebody give me a useful link?

  11. #71
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    When i say i have Bold family phones, I meant it, from the older to the younger, even the unborn ;)

  12. #72
    gregwi's Avatar
    gregwi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1

    Question Running Java Commander

    I did install the java commander, but keep getting a 16 bit DOS error to close or ignore which triggers a 1 command and continually gives device info.... not allowing me to wipe the blackberry

    Any thoughts on how to make the commander DOS compatible on my computer?

    gregwi

  13. #73
    lawful's Avatar
    lawful no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    7
    Wich is the latest for my curve 8320? What is vendor file?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  14. #74
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    lawful,

    You will find the latest OS for your device in the first post of this thread, but here is a direct link to one for your convenience.

    Detailed instructions on upgrading your device can be found here, including an explanation of the vendor.xml file.

    Cheers,
    Roger

  15. #75
    Tberrybraz's Avatar
    Tberrybraz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2
    First post--first BlackBerry kind of want the Orange UK look on my phone. I have the BlackBerry Tour and am unsure where to go to get the proper files. Any help would be appreciated. I apologized if bumping old threads is frowned upon.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •