Results 1 to 14 of 14

Hi all, I need to upgrade an 8700 OS to 4.1.0.466. Its running 4.1.0.153, I ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244

    upgrading OS & data

    Advertisement



    Hi all,

    I need to upgrade an 8700 OS to 4.1.0.466. Its running 4.1.0.153, I think.

    My question is, will I loose everyting on the Blackberry? Will I need to re-activate the devise after the upgrade?

    I'm using BES 4.0.

    I'll obviously take a backup using DM but unsure what might be affected by the upgrade.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247

    Re: upgrading OS & data

    Just back everything up and you should be fine. You won't need to reactivate it.

  3. #3
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: upgrading OS & data

    Is this a change with BES 4.0? I thought that after a Device Software upgrade you had to perform an enterprise activation.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  4. #4
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247
    My bad, skipped over the bes part ...

  5. #5
    noonegetit's Avatar
    noonegetit no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: upgrading OS & data

    Hi everyone, how can i erase actual bb 7290 uk vodafone os? URGENT response needed PLEASE....

  6. #6
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244

    Re: upgrading OS & data

    Hi guys...I did it.

    Just had to install the latest OS to my PC then upgrade using DM and all was fine.

    Didn't need to do anything more.

    Thanks guys!

    noonegetit...Just download JL_CMDR, do a search here to download it. That will wipe the handheld of everythingcompletely!

    Then, just run DM and re-install the OS...Good luck!

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111

    Re: upgrading OS & data

    Okay, I have downloaded the latest OS for my 8310 off the AT&T site to my laptop. Also have the latest OS for DM.

    Just connected to DM expecting it to recognize that my handheld doesn't have the latest OS and thus allow me to install it, but no such luck.

    What am I missing?

    Thanks in advance.....

  8. #8
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: upgrading OS & data

    Sometimes you have to start the application loader in the dm to kick the update into starting.

    I've seen some BB's reactivate on the BES after an update, others must be manually reactivated.


    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    laz's Avatar
    laz
    laz no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    244701B4
    Posts
    435
    Hi I'm on tmob 8100 4.2.0.42 and need to upgrade so I can use a 4gb microSD can someone plz link me up

  10. #10
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111

    Re: upgrading OS & data

    Quote Originally Posted by DCookSta View Post
    Sometimes you have to start the application loader in the dm to kick the update into starting.

    I've seen some BB's reactivate on the BES after an update, others must be manually reactivated.


    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I've tried that as well to no avail.

  11. #11
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244

    Re: upgrading OS & data

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    RoGro,
    You know you downloaded the latest OS to your computer, did you actually install it too?

    You need to find the downloaded OS and run it so it installs on the computer, then connect your Berry and launch DM.

    Hope this helps, mate.

  12. #12
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111

    Re: upgrading OS & data

    Quote Originally Posted by Gman1108 View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    RoGro,
    You know you downloaded the latest OS to your computer, did you actually install it too?

    You need to find the downloaded OS and run it so it installs on the computer, then connect your Berry and launch DM.

    Hope this helps, mate.
    I'm pretty sure I saw it install after I downloaded it, but in case it didn't, do you know where it's stored? Went through the folders and didn't find anything. Not to say it isn't there, but if you know exactly where it is, that would help!

    Roger

  13. #13
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: upgrading OS & data

    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    I'm pretty sure I saw it install after I downloaded it, but in case it didn't, do you know where it's stored? Went through the folders and didn't find anything. Not to say it isn't there, but if you know exactly where it is, that would help!

    Roger
    It helps to pick an easy place to save the file before you've downloaded it. The desktop is always a good place, your install file may have gone in your "My Documents" folder. You have to find the file you downloaded and actually run it to install the program. Click next through a few screens until you get the options to start the dm at startup or not.

  14. #14
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116

    Re: upgrading OS & data

    Quote Originally Posted by laz View Post
    Hi I'm on tmob 8100 4.2.0.42 and need to upgrade so I can use a 4gb microSD can someone plz link me up
    Laz,

    I think you'll find the update you need on this site for DM or handset.

    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support...load_sites.jsp

    This is T-Mobile: http://www.t-mobile.com/bbupgrade/ [/FONT][FONT=&quot]

    Hope that helps.[/FONT]
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •