Results 1 to 14 of 14

i upgraded to 4.5 v .81 and cannot view streaming videos (youtube, etc) is there ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    foregus's Avatar
    foregus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    yes
    Posts
    98

    Question upgraded to .81 and cannot view streaming video

    Advertisement



    i upgraded to 4.5 v .81 and cannot view streaming videos (youtube, etc) is there something im missing
    please help

    thanks

  2. #2
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    It would be a great help to the forum if you could please update your profile. We need to know which device you have, if you are on BIS or BES, ect. ect. Thanks!

  3. #3
    foregus's Avatar
    foregus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    yes
    Posts
    98
    Sorry about that ray, im that new to bb im on a 8310 curve and also dont know if im an bis or bes how do i check? I upgraded from 4.2 and used the link from east asia on this site Thanks hope you can help and sorry for the lack of info il update my info as soon as i get to a pc ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    foregus's Avatar
    foregus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    yes
    Posts
    98
    Ok, Looked it up im on BIS, the upgrade to 4.5 v .81 went great, i have not encountered any bug issue except for not being able to view steraming video, which i don't know if it because my service provider blocked even though im on an unlimited plan

  5. #5
    mikedoan's Avatar
    mikedoan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    179
    Quote Originally Posted by foregus View Post
    Ok, Looked it up im on BIS, the upgrade to 4.5 v .81 went great, i have not encountered any bug issue except for not being able to view steraming video, which i don't know if it because my service provider blocked even though im on an unlimited plan
    Who is your carrier?

    I'm on Pearl 8100 with Optus Australia (4.5.0.69)

    Had the same issue, never been able to view m.youtube since upgrade to 4.5 (was looking fwd to that too).

    I called Optus BlackBerry support division and they could only confirm that yes it does work with 4.6; BUT they know nothing/have no support for 4.5

    I cannot believe that they can know nothing about their own product...

  6. #6
    foregus's Avatar
    foregus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    yes
    Posts
    98
    Im with telcel Mexico have not called them up but don't think they would be nuch help, i was very nuch looking forward to video stream. via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by foregus View Post
    Im with telcel Mexico have not called them up but don't think they would be nuch help, i was very nuch looking forward to video stream. via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Go to Options>Advanced Options>TCP and let us know what it says in there.

  8. #8
    foregus's Avatar
    foregus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    yes
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Go to Options>Advanced Options>TCP and let us know what it says in there.


    APN:
    USERNAME for APN:
    Password for APN:

    and all are blank, what should be displayed in this option??

    thanks

  9. #9
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Go to this web site, plug in your country and provider and it will tell you what settings need to be in there.

  10. #10
    foregus's Avatar
    foregus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    yes
    Posts
    98
    thanks a lot Rogro for your help, it is very much apreciated, now it seems to load the video but error message appears Error playing can not find web address. verify that this web address is valid

    is there somthing missing?
    thanks

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Try going into your browser and clearing cache.

    Open the browser, press the BB menu button, Options>Cache Properties, then clear everything out in there.

  12. #12
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Go to this web site, plug in your country and provider and it will tell you what settings need to be in there.

    Awesome info Rogro!
    THBASSMAN

    Carpe Diem!!

    thbassmanatpinstackdotcom

    Check this out!!! Mobiletropolis

    My TORCH Rocks!

  13. #13
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by thbassman View Post
    Awesome info Rogro!
    Thanks th!

    Awhile back there was a stream of requests for this info. Came across the web site then. It's pretty useful and seems like they keep it up to date.

  14. #14
    foregus's Avatar
    foregus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    yes
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Try going into your browser and clearing cache.

    Open the browser, press the BB menu button, Options>Cache Properties, then clear everything out in there.
    cleared cache, but still same error, what else could i try?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •