Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

I don't know if I'm the only one.I have Tmobile 8820 with 4.2 os and ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    bobmcelroy's Avatar
    bobmcelroy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24533BD3
    Posts
    267

    i upgraded to orange 4.5 had to downgrade back to 4.2

    Advertisement



    I don't know if I'm the only one.I have Tmobile 8820 with 4.2 os and I saw the orange 4.5 os here to pinstack so I decided to check it out. I downloaded the os and installed it. It worked fine while I was using it but then out of nowhere it just flashed a red light then it would turn off. It took a long time to boot up hourglass spining and it would reset it self 3 or 4 times before it finaly would boot up.after it booted up it would work fine while I was using it but as soon as I put it down or in the holster I would check it then ther is an hourglass spining again. I did everything the right way I deleted the vendor.xml backed everything up and loaded the new os. I could not take my phone reseting it self so I went back to 4.2 allthough 4.5. Has some nice new features. Well I guess I have to wait for Tmo to release it. *

  2. #2
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    You should try reloading 4.5 again. That might fix the problem and if you decide to. Don't foeget to backup then do a wipe before upgrading.

    ---
    T-Mobile Curve 8320 - 4.5.0.55 OS Beta!
    [heavycomponent@tmo.blackberry.net]

    --HeavyC.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    bsjmcconnell's Avatar
    bsjmcconnell no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    4029C610
    Posts
    923
    Quote Originally Posted by HeavyComponent View Post
    You should try reloading 4.5 again. That might fix the problem and if you decide to. Don't foeget to backup then do a wipe before upgrading.

    ---
    T-Mobile Curve 8320 - 4.5.0.55 OS Beta!
    [heavycomponent@tmo.blackberry.net]

    --HeavyC.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I agree with HeavyC, sometimes you need to do a total wipe of the phone to make sure you dont have any residual data that could cause problems.
    “There's nothing that cleanses your soul like getting the hell kicked out of you.”
    ----Woody Hayes


  4. #4
    tianz's Avatar
    tianz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Well, maybe you should wait for os release from your carrier, I tried upgrading to 45 with 3 different build and wipe method but still got error with my bluetooth. 45 got really nice new feature indeed, but if you want it so bad, maybe you could done it again with wipe method. good luck

  5. #5
    bobmcelroy's Avatar
    bobmcelroy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24533BD3
    Posts
    267
    When I have a some free time maby I will try it again~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    bobmcelroy's Avatar
    bobmcelroy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24533BD3
    Posts
    267
    Whatversion of the desktop software you were you guys using when you upgraded?
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    bobmcelroy's Avatar
    bobmcelroy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24533BD3
    Posts
    267
    Thanks I got it working

  8. #8
    bobmcelroy's Avatar
    bobmcelroy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24533BD3
    Posts
    267
    Well It Looks Like I Have To Downgrade Again I Loaded A New Wallpaper And Now All My Phone Will Do Is Keep Restarting Im So Pissed Im Gonna Wait For T Mobile To Release 4.5 I A Downgrading As Soon As I Get Home
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    bobmcelroy's Avatar
    bobmcelroy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24533BD3
    Posts
    267
    I wiped and upgraded again so far everything is working fine

  10. #10
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    Good to hear that bob.

    ---
    T-Mobile Curve 8320 - 4.5.0.69 OS Beta!
    [heavycomponent@tmo.blackberry.net]

    --HeavyC.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    bobmcelroy's Avatar
    bobmcelroy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24533BD3
    Posts
    267
    ya man im not changeing my backround immage

  12. #12
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by bobmcelroy View Post
    ya man im not changeing my backround immage
    Hang in there, McElroy. You should be able to successfully upgrade and use it - most of these releases are very stable as far as I can tell.

    Lord knows, I waited long enough - I also upgraded a couple of times (like you) and downgraded right away. I don't have ANY patience with a troublesome release. I've been of 4.5 now almost a month without issue. Good luck.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  13. #13
    bobmcelroy's Avatar
    bobmcelroy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24533BD3
    Posts
    267
    Tip Of Advise For All
    Backup Phone And Memory Card
    Format Your Micro Sd Card
    And Do A Wipe
    All Before Installing An Os

  14. #14
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Good advice, Bob. IMO, I'd recommend a backup for anything or every once in a while. You can never go wrong having a backup.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  15. #15
    nabeleda's Avatar
    nabeleda no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    12
    i cant seem to downgrade from 4.5 to 4.2. when i connect my bb to 4.2 dm..nothings pops up to ask me to downgrade or change the os at ALL. i dont know how i upgrade to 4.5..it worked fine..but its just downgrading..heres what i did..

    1. uninstalled 4.5 from pc
    2. reinstalled 4.2 (i dont have to delete vendor.xml file because the file i hav eis from at&t).
    3. connected the bb..and nottttttthing!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •