Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

I have a 8310 AT&T phone, was going to upgrade to 4.5 from East Asia. ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    dingdong901's Avatar
    dingdong901 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    22

    Question UpGrade to 4.5 OS

    Advertisement



    I have a 8310 AT&T phone, was going to upgrade to 4.5 from East Asia. Will it be in english, do I have to wipe BB clean before upgrade?
    I have 4.5 DM installed, removed vendor.xml, and have downloaded the upgrade, just not installed yet. I just don't want to mess up my phone, but looking forward to upgrade.

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    dingdong, all versions of BlackBerry OS's include English.

    Sounds like you're good to go!

    Post back here if you have any issues and we'll gladly help you through it.

    Seems like you have everything well in hand, though.

    Roger

  3. #3
    dingdong901's Avatar
    dingdong901 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    22
    Do I have to wipe BB clean before upgrade, or does it happen automatically?

  4. #4
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by dingdong901 View Post
    Do I have to wipe BB clean before upgrade, or does it happen automatically?
    Its plug n play!

    It does everything for you, just back it up before you do it... it will take care of the rest..
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    ^^ What Shawn said!

    The DM should default to backing up your device, but you might want to check through all the options to verify that, just in case.

  6. #6
    rufy's Avatar
    rufy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    -
    Posts
    28
    Just do it =)
    Follow step by step.
    No worries

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    TorturedNacho's Avatar
    TorturedNacho no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    208EB87C
    Posts
    684
    Good Questions Ding. Im Sure there were other people (guests) who were looking for this type of information

  8. #8
    conceptdc5's Avatar
    conceptdc5 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    in my case, ive done the same thing.... ive already backup my stuff.


    but the thing about it is... ive got jivetalk. and i only bought like that one license thing.... how can i be sure that 'jivetalk' is also on that backup file? if i go to advanced options, is there something that i gotta click on to be sure that the file also copies over?

  9. #9
    cypher's Avatar
    cypher no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    876-5309
    Posts
    111
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ jivetalk is tied to your pin. Upgrading your os won't change your pin. Unless you change your device. Hope that helps

  10. #10
    conceptdc5's Avatar
    conceptdc5 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by cypher View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ jivetalk is tied to your pin. Upgrading your os won't change your pin. Unless you change your device. Hope that helps



    thanks!!! it does help.

  11. #11
    dingdong901's Avatar
    dingdong901 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    22
    Well, got the phone upgraded to v4.5.0.37 , took me awhile to get it all figured out and get the download started. But so far things are all working okay with no snags. Awesome upgrade, should have done it sooner.
    Thanks everyone for the help you gave me, made it a lot easier.

  12. #12
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by dingdong901 View Post
    Well, got the phone upgraded to v4.5.0.37 , took me awhile to get it all figured out and get the download started. But so far things are all working okay with no snags. Awesome upgrade, should have done it sooner.
    Thanks everyone for the help you gave me, made it a lot easier.
    Glad to hear! Do not hesitate to ask any further questions!
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  13. #13
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by dingdong901 View Post
    Well, got the phone upgraded to v4.5.0.37 , took me awhile to get it all figured out and get the download started. But so far things are all working okay with no snags. Awesome upgrade, should have done it sooner.
    Thanks everyone for the help you gave me, made it a lot easier.
    Cool! Now since you're a upgrade veteran, you should consider the latest "official" release of the OS for your device which is 4.5.0.55 and can be found here:

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ad.php?t=80830

  14. #14
    dingdong901's Avatar
    dingdong901 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    22
    What is yhe difference between .37 and the .55 ?

  15. #15
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by dingdong901 View Post
    What is yhe difference between .37 and the .55 ?
    .55 would be better optimized for your device as it is a final official release for your particular model.
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •