Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 34

Will this work for ATT too?? Originally Posted by ej Sorry about that here is ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #16
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235

    tethering

    Advertisement



    Will this work for ATT too??


    Quote Originally Posted by ej View Post
    Sorry about that here is better

    Setup the handheld as a modem:

    * Ensure the BlackBerry is connected to*the Desktop Manger and displays*connected.
    ********** NOTE: The Desktop manager must be open and connected for the blackberry to work as a modem.
    * If the desktop manager is not connected go to Options, Connection settings, click on Detect once the blackberry is connected.
    * Go to Start, Control Panel, Switch to Classic View.
    ********** NOTE:*The option is located in the upper left section
    * Select Phone and Modem Options.
    * Go to the*Modems section.
    * Right click on the Standard Modem and go to Properties.

    * NOTE: The Standard Modem is the ONLY modem you should use if it is not available run the BlackBerry Desktop Manager Repair from Add/Remove Programs.

    * On the General tab make sure to put a check in the Change Settings option.
    * Click the Advanced Tab.
    * Enter in the Extra Initialization Command field at+cgdcont=1,"IP","wap.voicestream.com"
    * Press Ok then close Device Manager.


    ----------------



    Setup the connection:

    * Go to Start, Control Panel.
    * Choose Network and Sharing Center.
    * On the left hand tab select Set Up a Connection or Network.
    * Choose Setup a Dial Up Connection then press Next.
    * Select Standard Modem.
    NOTE: Make sure all the other modems are de-selected.
    * Click Next.
    * Enter *99#* in the Phone Number field Leave the Username and Password blank.
    * Enter the T-Mobile for the connection name.
    * Press Connect.


    ----------------



    NOTE: The connection WILL fail. That is expected.

    * Select "Set up connection anyway"
    * In Network and Sharing Center
    * Select Manage Network Connections

    * Locate the DUN you just made (T-Mobile)

    * Right Click on connection
    * Choose Properties
    * On the General Tab
    * Choose Configure

    * Uncheck all Hardware features
    * Click OK

    * Click Options Tab
    * Click the PPP Settings button

    * Uncheck all the boxes
    * Click OK

    * Click OK

    * Locate the DUN you just made (T-Mobile)

    * Right Click on connection
    * Select Create Shortcut
    ********** NOTE: (it will say ‘windows cannot create a shortcut here to you want it on your desktop – say yes)
    * Close your windows and locate your shortcut and double click

    *
    Thank you,

    Ben Hagen
    Agent, Tier III Data Support


    Service Partner
    * ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    THBASSMAN

    Carpe Diem!!

    thbassmanatpinstackdotcom

    Check this out!!! Mobiletropolis

    My TORCH Rocks!

  2. #17
    Thyth's Avatar
    Thyth no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    273

  3. #18
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    This thread discuss 4.5.0.52 release by Orange Romania:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ad.php?t=80166

    Click on this link and then the Orange Romania link:
    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support...load_sites.jsp

    Instrucitons are also in My Blog
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #19
    ej's Avatar
    ej
    ej no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    280A5A37
    Posts
    382
    Bassman I don't think it'll work for att customers. I called tmo customer service and had them send the instructions to my email. Might have to go the same route with att~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #20
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Check the link in My Blog on tethering - it gives pretty clear step by step instructions. You will need to find the "sign in" info for ATT
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #21
    dallas1125's Avatar
    dallas1125 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576E92F
    Posts
    1,610
    thnx

  7. #22
    planneau's Avatar
    planneau no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,029
    Quote Originally Posted by ej View Post
    Ok no bs try this

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ad.php?t=80023

    Sorry for the multiple posts

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    thanks. i got it and it works.

  8. #23
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    I would like to see this thread returned to its original content.

    Any 4.5 users successfully able to tether?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #24
    ej's Avatar
    ej
    ej no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    280A5A37
    Posts
    382
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    I would like to see this thread returned to its original content.

    Any 4.5 users successfully able to tether?
    i am tethering on 4.5.0.52 with the method that i used above. i am on t-mobile
    wreckless music
    makin the hits

    www.wrecklessmusic.bravehost.com

    add me on myspace www.myspace.com/wreckless_music

  10. #25
    synik103's Avatar
    synik103 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    OICU812
    Posts
    2,013
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    I would like to see this thread returned to its original content.

    Any 4.5 users successfully able to tether?
    Thanks for havin' my back bruh.
    The above commentary is for entertainment purposes only. If this was actual joke the tone you just heard would have been followed by emergency response information. It's supposed to be fun people.

  11. #26
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Quote Originally Posted by ej View Post
    i am tethering on 4.5.0.52 with the method that i used above. i am on t-mobile
    Thanks EJ, I will take another look at it. Did you already have tethering set up before you upgraded?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  12. #27
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235
    Gary have you had anyone be able to do it on ATT?
    THBASSMAN

    Carpe Diem!!

    thbassmanatpinstackdotcom

    Check this out!!! Mobiletropolis

    My TORCH Rocks!

  13. #28
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Not sure, It does not work for me currently on TMO on 4.5 ( and it worked 100% before the upgrade)

    Bassman - have you ever been able to tether?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  14. #29
    bonebox's Avatar
    bonebox no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    232
    Quote Originally Posted by thbassman View Post
    Gary have you had anyone be able to do it on ATT?
    I'm on AT&T and tethering works fine for me on 4.5(.0.37) with the same setup I've always used (on 4.2). I'm about to upgrade to 4.5.0.55 and will test it out again after that.

  15. #30
    bonebox's Avatar
    bonebox no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    232
    FYI, just updated to 4.5.0.55 and bluetooth tethering still works fine for me on AT&T 8310.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •