Results 1 to 9 of 9

So I have error 507 and I'm trying to add the OS to get my ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    Flurpiee's Avatar
    Flurpiee no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    5

    Question Syntax error while trying to install my new OS

    Advertisement



    So I have error 507 and I'm trying to add the OS to get my blackberry running.
    The only problem is the fact that the OS file is a .exe file and not a .ali file. So when I try to upload it, it says Syntax Error Line 1 and sorts.

    Can anyone tell me exactly what to do?
    Screen shots would be SUPER helpful.

    I feel so lost without my BB.

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    hi flurpiee -- welcome to pinstack.

    first, you would need to execute the file (install it on to your PC) .. it will not be in alx format. once you have it installed on your PC, plug bb in, launch DM and it should pick up the update. if not, double click application loader, choose install new apps and click thru to the installation window. instead of clicking browse to add apps, it (the OS and its components) should fill up the window. click next and the window will show that it is going to install the new OS.

  3. #3
    Flurpiee's Avatar
    Flurpiee no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    5
    Ok, so I tried that. When I try to open and run the OS I downloaded, it leads to the Desktop manager. Then I plug in my BB and connect it and nothing happens.

  4. #4
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    delete the vendor.xml file located:
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader\vendor.xml

  5. #5
    Flurpiee's Avatar
    Flurpiee no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    5
    I searched that file in my computer and I didn't find one to delete.

  6. #6
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    well then thats not the problem. did you download the correct OS for your device. each OS is device spacific so an 8110 OS willnot work with a 8100 device

  7. #7
    Flurpiee's Avatar
    Flurpiee no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    5
    That could be it.
    I thought I had an 8110 but I think its just a 8100 but I wasn't paying very much attention to all the OS for my blackberry.
    *crosses fingers it will work*
    Thanks =)

  8. #8
    Flurpiee's Avatar
    Flurpiee no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    5
    OMG IT WORKED
    I am so happy.
    These past 3 days have been hell without my bb.
    Maybe I'll buy it a nice new case because I had to operate on it.
    Thank you for your help =)

  9. #9
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    your welcome, This right here is what pinstack is all about ^^^^^^ take a good look one happy user

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •