Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 55

I downloaded dm 4.7 and VZW's 4.5os. I followed Hayden's instructions exact. Deleted the Vendor.xml. ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    grymtyrant@msn.'s Avatar
    grymtyrant@msn. no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    320

    Starting to get a little pissed here....

    Advertisement



    I downloaded dm 4.7 and VZW's 4.5os. I followed Hayden's instructions exact. Deleted the Vendor.xml. I open up the DM and it doesnt recognize an update available. How can I put this 4.5os on my Blackberry!!?!?!?!??!?! I've tried this twice now. I've reinstalled stuff. Rebooted the computer. And nothing!! Please give me a hand someone.

  2. #2
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    Are you sure you downloaded the right OS? Its happened to the best of us. Add my pin for help one on one ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    grymtyrant@msn.'s Avatar
    grymtyrant@msn. no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    320
    Well I am trying to use vzw's 8330 4.5os for my sprint 8330. But I did delete the vendor.xml

  4. #4
    Berryadict's Avatar
    Berryadict no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,297
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Be sure an run/install upgrade by clicking on the exec icon it downloaded. Go through the whole procedure, then delete vendor file. After deleting, put it in start/search again to insure that it's gone.
    Usb bb, then open DM. It should ask if you want to install upgrade

  5. #5
    grymtyrant@msn.'s Avatar
    grymtyrant@msn. no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    320
    Quote Originally Posted by Berryadict View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Be sure an run/install upgrade by clicking on the exec icon it downloaded. Go through the whole procedure, then delete vendor file. After deleting, put it in start/search again to insure that it's gone.
    Usb bb, then open DM. It should ask if you want to install upgrade
    I did all of that. It doesnt recognize that it is on my computer.

  6. #6
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    In the DM, is "Check for updates" set to auto detect? Click on check for updates then click on the little gear icon in the upper right corner, deselect the option and click OK. Then close the DM, hook up your BB and try again. You may need to restart your PC or even delete and re-install the DM without that option selected. I have read that this causes problems.
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  7. #7
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I went through this last night with my 8120 for 7 freaking hours and still no upgrade.


  8. #8
    grymtyrant@msn.'s Avatar
    grymtyrant@msn. no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    320
    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    In the DM, is "Check for updates" set to auto detect? Click on check for updates then click on the little gear icon in the upper right corner, deselect the option and click OK. Then close the DM, hook up your BB and try again. You may need to restart your PC or even delete and re-install the DM without that option selected. I have read that this causes problems.
    After I re-downloaded the OS and deleting the vendor file, I tried this. Restarted my comp too. Nothing. I'm starting to go insane. Isn't there a way to make the dm notice the os?

  9. #9
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    what version desktop manager are you using?

  10. #10
    grymtyrant@msn.'s Avatar
    grymtyrant@msn. no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    320
    V4.7 Does it matter if it's with the media manager or not? I wouldn't think so.

  11. #11
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    ok, so instead of the old skool way of it popping up with the update, click application loader and attempt to 'load an app' .. does it list the OS in your list of applications to be installed?

    also, does the OS show up in help/about DM/device software?

  12. #12
    grymtyrant@msn.'s Avatar
    grymtyrant@msn. no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    320
    I'll take a look in a few here. I decided to reinstall the DM. For some reason thinking it will work.

  13. #13
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Take a look at this post, the instructions are a little different than I remembered. Try it: http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...1&postcount=64
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  14. #14
    jsaradhi's Avatar
    jsaradhi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    411
    i would do what cherri suggests...use application loader and it should tell u to upgrade when u try to update or add a new app depending on what DM version u have.

  15. #15
    grymtyrant@msn.'s Avatar
    grymtyrant@msn. no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    320
    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo View Post
    ok, so instead of the old skool way of it popping up with the update, click application loader and attempt to 'load an app' .. does it list the OS in your list of applications to be installed?

    also, does the OS show up in help/about DM/device software?
    Doesn't show up in the application loader. And doesn't show up in the help/about DM/device software. I also didnt check the auto updates box when installing the dm.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •