Hello, just got my first Blackberry 8110. I think this is the right forum to ... RIM Handheld OS forum

jacbk612 no está en línea Stack level 1

Question problem running my first application

Advertisement

Hello, just got my first Blackberry 8110. I think this is the right forum to get some help. It's a total newb question and I hope you don't mind.

I would like to write some engineering type applications for the 8100. I have some java apps. on my web site that I would like to convert:
    see : http://www.lightmypump.com/imperial_pump_formulas.htm

I have downloaded and installed the JDE 4.3 and am trying Hayden's Hello world program. I have downloaded the completed code for this page:
    http://www.blackberry.com/developers...lication.shtml

After I do the build I get the following error message:

I/O Error: Cannot run program "javac": CreateProcess error=2, The system cannot find the file specified
    Error while building project

Am I missing some software? Where does the device simulator enter the picture.

Thanks for any help.

Cheers,

Jacques

Thyth no está en línea Stack level 3
    Do you have the Sun Java Development Kit installed?

javac is the Java compiler, and I do not think the BlackBerry JDE comes with the JDK.

Try installing the latest JDK from Sun (http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/index.jsp). The item you want is the first download on that page.

If you do have the JDK installed already, make sure the JDK binaries are in your path. In Windows, this can be done from the System Properties option within the control panel, under the advanced tab, there is a button labeled "Environment Variables". The JDK installation should automatically adjust the path, so I would try installing (or reinstalling) that.

Question

Hi Tyth, thanks for your help. I had a jDK which was probably not the right version so I downloaded the one you suggest but the JDE is still giving the same error.