Page 16 of 28 FirstFirst ... 1112131415161718192021 ... LastLast
Results 226 to 240 of 409

Originally Posted by BklynEddie I did the upgrade to 4.5.0.97 on my 8330 Curve and ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #226
    sugardad's Avatar
    sugardad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ef283
    Posts
    100

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by BklynEddie View Post
    I did the upgrade to 4.5.0.97 on my 8330 Curve and now whenever
    I do a battery pull and/or reboot. After it loads and does the checks
    I get a box saying >>>
    Uncaught exception:
    ArticInterface:ocPosToCare:error 3;
    formatted text length = 29; <<<<
    Would anybody know what this means and how I can fix it?
    Thanks
    I attached a screen shot of the message I get.
    If you updated your Device without wiping It first
    and just made a full backup (pim, Contacts, Themes, Applications that were preInstalled on your previous ROM etc)
    Then the problem might be a minor conflict between Previous DocsTogo and Current ROM's DocsToGo Resource Files

    If you have Documents To go Installed
    Unistall It
    then Reinstall It again and head on to It's website and Update It....
    If you don't have the Installation I can pack you one....
    Also old Agendus and Opera Browser are prone to these faults
    OTHER THAN THAT
    ONLY 3rd party Software cause these exceptions due to Incompatibility with OS 4.5
    Plz take time If the abovementioned didn't work to tell us what 3rd party apps you have Installed!
    That's all I can advise you for now...
    Last edited by sugardad; 11-21-2008 at 08:58 AM.

  2. #227
    bajanbastard's Avatar
    bajanbastard no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    510
    I'm pretty sure the DTM wipes the device before the install. During the erasing app screen hit a botton on the device and you'll see the screen with the thing with the no entry sign over it.
    Device history: 8100 > 8320 > 8900 & 9530. Keep crackin'

  3. #228
    sugardad's Avatar
    sugardad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ef283
    Posts
    100
    DTM Offers FOR Firmware Upgrade
    BackUp and Restore of Apps, Pim, Addressbook
    OR just PIM and Adressbook
    OR the good ole Complete Device Wipe with NO Backup at all
    you can always choose your flavour

    BUT
    Even If It wipes the Device (who says It does not) It will still restore OLD SW that have chosen to be backed up by user during the update process....
    Last edited by sugardad; 11-21-2008 at 03:03 PM.

  4. #229
    BklynEddie's Avatar
    BklynEddie no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    3089BE1A
    Posts
    622
    Quote Originally Posted by sugardad View Post
    If you updated your Device without wiping It first
    and just made a full backup (pim, Contacts, Themes, Applications that were preInstalled on your previous ROM etc)
    Then the problem might be a minor conflict between Previous DocsTogo and Current ROM's DocsToGo Resource Files

    If you have Documents To go Installed
    Unistall It
    then Reinstall It again and head on to It's website and Update It....
    If you don't have the Installation I can pack you one....
    Also old Agendus and Opera Browser are prone to these faults
    OTHER THAN THAT
    ONLY 3rd party Software cause these exceptions due to Incompatibility with OS 4.5
    Plz take time If the abovementioned didn't work to tell us what 3rd party apps you have Installed!
    That's all I can advise you for now...
    Hi,
    Thanks for the help. I upgraded from 4.3 to 4.5. During the upgrade I got
    a error 523 (seems I had a theme that would not work on 4.5) so I used JL_Cmder
    to wipe my bb. But I did have my stuff backed up and re-installed them after
    I got the OS installed. But I didn't install all my old stuff. Since I knew some
    of the programs, were for OS 4.3 and not for 4.5.

    I did install DTG after I did the upgrade (never used it though).
    Anyway I just un-installed it and after the reboot I still got the
    same error. I went to there web site and re-installed it and
    did a battery pull and still got the same error after reset.

    I thought it was a 3rd party program also. I've checked
    all the programs I have on my BB and they all work with
    out any problems.
    Needed to get a replacement 8330 Curve again, so I got a New pin and it's in my profile... Got 8330m now!

  5. #230
    sugardad's Avatar
    sugardad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ef283
    Posts
    100
    OH Oh! I Forgot.....
    NEVER EVER backup system settings from one rom to another!
    ONLY PIM Entries, (Wifi accesspoints), and Contacts
    I still have bad memories while updating from one ROM to another ROM and I was saving all my settings just to save time!

    If you also have backed up your system settings then a third party app may not be present but It's settings are there causing trouble...
    The problem causing It Is either an application leftover or application resource leftover that applies It's settings during startup
    or a leftover app setting that links to somewhere undefined and It just starts up just like a service while system boots
    this app/service/setting (leftover) causes this error . _ . _ .

    Also check you free memory for any leaks
    Press: ALT+EACE
    If It's ok
    THEN
    make sure that xcolor event, viigo, myalarm, Agendus and Opera Browser aren't old versions
    If you are certain about you apps then look my next line

    If you are somewhat used to BB's
    you can check you phones log
    Press: ALT+LGLG
    Scroll and check for any entry with BOLD font, this Is a critical/crash
    The Bold Entry In your phone's Log Is your Problem App

    If I were you I would back up once more Pim, Contacts etc *except settings*
    prepare a folder with all the needed stuff (themes, apps)
    and then I would perform a javaloader -u wipe
    and proceed to flash again the ROM
    and Then Restore Contacts and Install Themes and Apps

  6. #231
    BklynEddie's Avatar
    BklynEddie no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    3089BE1A
    Posts
    622
    Thanks for your help sugardad.
    I used your idea and checked the log (ALT+LGLG)
    and found the problem. It seems that the program "BerryAcode"
    was the problem. After I deleted it, the error message is/was gone.
    So for some reason it kept coming up with that error.
    I even tried a fresh install of the program and right away
    got the same error message back.
    Again thanks for your help.
    Needed to get a replacement 8330 Curve again, so I got a New pin and it's in my profile... Got 8330m now!

  7. #232
    sugardad's Avatar
    sugardad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ef283
    Posts
    100
    I'm glad that your problem Is sorted out and I could be of some Help!
    and also I'm glad that our Devices can out of the box self debug It's problems and help It's users

    Cheers!

  8. #233
    lordhavmercy's Avatar
    lordhavmercy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    250
    I have .99 for my 8700. Is this the lastest beta for 87XX?
    U might not be the best lookin girl here, but beauty is only a light switch away......Sent via BlackBerry for
    Nous (Co-CEO of Micface Ent.)..myspace.com/nous_of_cdg or www.reverbnation.com/cdg

  9. #234
    jnjewlz's Avatar
    jnjewlz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    6
    For those looking to take the leap to a beta os on the 8830 please do your homework first. I ran the 4.5.0.77 version as soon as it surfaced in the wild and then upgraded to the 4.5.0.101. If you were looking to go beta I'd recomend the .77 version as there are numerous issues with the media player in versions 101. Version 77 requires an extra step to get the standard ringtones back on your phone but other than that, I feel it the best so far.

    Hope this helps.
    Treo 300, 600, 700P, 700WX, BB 8830
    Realtor, Communications Consultant

  10. #235
    akirul2411's Avatar
    akirul2411 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7
    My BB is 8700g
    i do the wipe thing
    then it show 507
    please give me url to download my BB OS

    And tell me what desktop manager i should use

  11. #236
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Quote Originally Posted by jnjewlz View Post
    For those looking to take the leap to a beta os on the 8830 please do your homework first. I ran the 4.5.0.77 version as soon as it surfaced in the wild and then upgraded to the 4.5.0.101. If you were looking to go beta I'd recomend the .77 version as there are numerous issues with the media player in versions 101. Version 77 requires an extra step to get the standard ringtones back on your phone but other than that, I feel it the best so far.

    Hope this helps.
    I appreciate that info. Thank you.
    Others might get a problem, but it's working flawlessly for me. It is a BETA,and can have bugs for some. Hence the beta name.(Note) I had to install it by NOT deleting the vendor.xml file! Always had to in the past. It would not install if I deleted that file. Go figure??

  12. #237
    bajanbastard's Avatar
    bajanbastard no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    510
    Anyone see 4.5.0.110 for 8XXX GSM berries yet? Heard its out there.
    Device history: 8100 > 8320 > 8900 & 9530. Keep crackin'

  13. #238
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673

    OS 4.7.0.76 discussion

    first thing i noticed was that the camera is functioning very well.
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  14. #239
    dj_chiro's Avatar
    dj_chiro no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    36
    With the Vodafone .76 release, Bell mobility .76 release and the rumored VZW release tomorrow...I think I'm going to wait till tomorrow to see what version VZW releases...Does anyone know? I'm already running the leaked .75 on my 9530...If they are just officially releasing .75 then I will load the Bell .76...

  15. #240
    biggp's Avatar
    biggp no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    52

    new os

    Hello all, I have a blackberry 8830 WE and have downloaded the 4.5.0.77 os and have been having problems ever since! My battery life is a lot shorter now for one. When I am on google or yahoo messenger, my convos dissappear quite often and sometimes they dissappear as I am typing! This is quite annoying! I've been reading on these threads about some sort of memory leak! I'm not sure of what that is, but could this be my problem? Has anyone else had this problem since downloading this software? I appreciate any help! Also, could this be why my phone only will vibrate for incoming calls only? Thanks again, bigg-p

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •