Page 62 of 67 FirstFirst ... 57585960616263646566 ... LastLast
Results 916 to 930 of 1001

Originally Posted by JasonHDD now you need to go to C:\ProgramFiles\CommonFiles\ResearchInMotion\RIM Internal tools\Java folder make ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #916
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by JasonHDD View Post
    now you need to go to
    C:\ProgramFiles\CommonFiles\ResearchInMotion\RIM Internal tools\Java folder

    make a new folder in the java folder, name it removed.
    put these files into it: net_rim_quincy.cod
    net_rim_quincy_config_std.cod
    net_rim_quincy_ui.cod
    net_rim_quincy_speech_icon.cod
    net_rim_quincy_reports_new.cod
    net_rim_batterylog.cod
    net_rim_bugreport.cod

    after you do that, plug in BB, open DM, runn apploader, and step your way through the rest...it will show what modules it's removing...

    edit: because your phone is sending information to RIM about your phone
    Lol ok and that is a bad thing because? I'm still going to remove it, I'm just curious.

  2. #917
    mrseal2000's Avatar
    mrseal2000 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    94
    Quote Originally Posted by JasonHDD View Post
    now you need to go to
    C:\ProgramFiles\CommonFiles\ResearchInMotion\RIM Internal tools\Java folder

    make a new folder in the java folder, name it removed.
    put these files into it: net_rim_quincy.cod
    net_rim_quincy_config_std.cod
    net_rim_quincy_ui.cod
    net_rim_quincy_speech_icon.cod
    net_rim_quincy_reports_new.cod
    net_rim_batterylog.cod
    net_rim_bugreport.cod

    after you do that, plug in BB, open DM, runn apploader, and step your way through the rest...it will show what modules it's removing...

    edit: because your phone is sending information to RIM about your phone
    Like what kind of information? also removing and adding trust.

  3. #918
    JasonHDD's Avatar
    JasonHDD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    241
    they are programs RIM uses to check on betas...if they are active, you are sending them info on your phone..considering it's not an official release, they could in theory, terminate your PIN.... you can do any of the two options I've said, just deactivate on your phone, or go into the program and do it, or you can go to Control panel/add-remove/ and remove RIM Internal Tools/apps
    otherwise your phone is e-mailing them info..it's up to you

    edit: remeber you're not really supposed to have this OS...so why let them know you do...they could want to make an example of someone for running beta when you're not supposed to...just get rid of em man, everybody does

  4. #919
    mrseal2000's Avatar
    mrseal2000 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    94
    I am doing both, removing and disabling. Thanks a bunch. I guess im under the impression that we really arent allowed to use the beta?

  5. #920
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    I don't have neither of the modules you mentioned. I can't find them in my java.
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro2 & I'm not coming back! :D

    --HeavyC.

  6. #921
    bluefairy1971's Avatar
    bluefairy1971 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    399
    i guess i will keep my .42 beta as well. no problems.
    "If You Don't Like Me Just Remember It's Mind Over Matter..I Don't Mind and You Dont Matter"

  7. #922
    JasonHDD's Avatar
    JasonHDD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    241
    Quote Originally Posted by HeavyComponent View Post
    I don't have neither of the modules you mentioned. I can't find them in my java.
    you have a 8320...that device has none of those... sorry..but it is installed on the 8310..so if you have 8310(anybody) delete it... I just saw your post that said something about the quincy and stuff..sorry...but like I said those with 8310's, make sure to get rid of those

  8. #923
    mrseal2000's Avatar
    mrseal2000 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    94
    I have found the files you said in java put them in a folder called remove, But how do i get them off my phone?

  9. #924
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    So I'm safe as long as I disable them right?

    mrseal2000,

    after you do that, plug in BB, open DM, runn apploader, and step your way through the rest...it will show what modules it's removing...

    As he said...
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro2 & I'm not coming back! :D

    --HeavyC.

  10. #925
    JasonHDD's Avatar
    JasonHDD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    241
    Quote Originally Posted by HeavyComponent View Post
    So I'm safe as long as I disable them right?
    If you see anything quincy or batterylog on your phone, then you have those modules in RIM internal Tools....you don't have to delete them in the folder if you just de-activate them from your phone... but those files take up memory, and since you're not going to use them, why not free up the memory

  11. #926
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    I tried looking for it, but there not there. Also I can't disable the battery log, it wont let me.

    EDIT: Never mind I found them, good looks Jason.
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro2 & I'm not coming back! :D

    --HeavyC.

  12. #927
    JasonHDD's Avatar
    JasonHDD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    241
    Quote Originally Posted by HeavyComponent View Post
    I tried looking for it, but there not there. Also I can't disable the battery log, it wont let me.

    EDIT: Never mind I found them, good looks Jason.
    NP..just glad you found them.... remeber just put them in the removed folder, or just remove the whole thing from control panel....

  13. #928
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    So cell data and link track, what are those?
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro2 & I'm not coming back! :D

    --HeavyC.

  14. #929
    mrseal2000's Avatar
    mrseal2000 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    94
    I plugged my BB in and no updates were required. Am i doing something wrong? Cant i just delete the whole internal tools folder?

  15. #930
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    mrseal2000,

    When you plug in your BB and load up DM go to Application Loader. Click the one that says remove, which is on the left.

    Oh wait, I 'm not sure which DM version you are using. If it's 4.5 then follow my steps. If you have 4.3 just click Application Loader and click next until it's done.
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro2 & I'm not coming back! :D

    --HeavyC.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •