Page 3 of 67 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 1001

Originally Posted by warfare I have a t-mobile 8320 curve and my SIM is now ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #31
    jbreidel's Avatar
    jbreidel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    241EDB49
    Posts
    112

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by warfare View Post
    I have a t-mobile 8320 curve and my SIM is now unreadable. I loaded 4.5.0.37 and had it running for a week until now my phone has an initialization error and SOS only calling. Does anyone know if the SIMs can be recovered or do I need to get a new one??
    4.5.0.37 had an issue with the 8320 and eating/destroying SIM cards, I fell victim to it as well as a number of others on this site. You will have to replace the SIM card there is no other way around it.


    ~~ On a side note, anyone know if that is still happening in .42 as I am terrified to fry my SIM again.

  2. #32
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    I need to know to because I got my SIM card fried twice by the .37. I don't want to upgrade to .42 and it starts happening again.

    QUESTION: RIM is making these betas right? Just making sure.
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro2 & I'm not coming back! :D

    --HeavyC.

  3. #33
    krees23's Avatar
    krees23 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    63
    Quote Originally Posted by warfare View Post
    I have a t-mobile 8320 curve and my SIM is now unreadable. I loaded 4.5.0.37 and had it running for a week until now my phone has an initialization error and SOS only calling. Does anyone know if the SIMs can be recovered or do I need to get a new one??
    99.99 percent sure you will need to get a new one. .37 will probably fry that one in a couple off weeks too. I would downgrade back to official released o/s, but it's up to you...

  4. #34
    cypher's Avatar
    cypher no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    876-5309
    Posts
    111
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ just installed .42 on my 8800 tmo. It's running smooth so far. I didn't experience the mem card problem like I did with .37 (that was fix by formatting the mem card).

  5. #35
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    I will take one for the team (stackers with 8320) and upgrade to the .42. If anyone wants to join me then lets do this. We will or I will update any problems daily. Hopefully one of the bad news isn't SIM fried!
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro2 & I'm not coming back! :D

    --HeavyC.

  6. #36
    jbreidel's Avatar
    jbreidel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    241EDB49
    Posts
    112
    I myself am gonna do a little more research on .42 with the 8320 as if I lose my SIM card again I dont know if I will bring myself to reuse the betas again. I am back on .18 and its stable enough for me to use it.

  7. #37
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    Don't let the SIM card fried issue scare you man. I got mine fried TWICE and I'm still trying to upgrade on betas.
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro2 & I'm not coming back! :D

    --HeavyC.

  8. #38
    sugardad's Avatar
    sugardad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ef283
    Posts
    100
    4.5.0.37(52) Works but has some browser issues and mem leaks so far
    (As posted before)

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #39
    Hack173's Avatar
    Hack173 no está en línea banned
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    249E4D70
    Posts
    2,694
    Quote Originally Posted by NightFire View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    A little over seven hours running, and I notice the memory leak seems to have been reduced significantly. Also, when I upgraded from .37 to .42, I gained almost 4 extra MB of memory.
    I Agree.

  10. #40
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    Just wiped out my BB and about to upgrade to the .42.
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro2 & I'm not coming back! :D

    --HeavyC.

  11. #41
    Hack173's Avatar
    Hack173 no está en línea banned
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    249E4D70
    Posts
    2,694
    I've been using .42 since it came out (about 34 hrs. now) and proud to say my SIM card is still alive.

    VIA:8320

  12. #42
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by HeavyComponent View Post
    Don't let the SIM card fried issue scare you man. I got mine fried TWICE and I'm still trying to upgrade on betas.
    Fried SIM cards means having to get a new one which costs money. I would say wait to see what others say about .42 before installing it yourself if you are iffy about it.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  13. #43
    bonafidebrother's Avatar
    bonafidebrother no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    13
    I am with you...I am doing it right now....been doing it for a while. Although the sim card thing scares me...I am willing to do it.

    By the way, how much does T-Mobile charge for a new SIM card???
    FREAKIN' CRAZY about my T-Mobile 7100t

  14. #44
    Hack173's Avatar
    Hack173 no está en línea banned
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    249E4D70
    Posts
    2,694
    Quote Originally Posted by bonafidebrother View Post
    I am with you...I am doing it right now....been doing it for a while. Although the sim card thing scares me...I am willing to do it.

    By the way, how much does T-Mobile charge for a new SIM card???
    I think they charge $20-25.

  15. #45
    jbreidel's Avatar
    jbreidel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    241EDB49
    Posts
    112
    Nothing it should be free, when I went in they tried to test it on the spot and it was fried. They gave me a new one before I left the store my phone was back up in action.

Page 3 of 67 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •