Results 1 to 13 of 13

hi, i just got an 8700 today and i'm so lost. i entered an incorrect ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    snarkoleptik's Avatar
    snarkoleptik no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    32

    password wipe

    Advertisement



    hi, i just got an 8700 today and i'm so lost. i entered an incorrect password and now my handheld is wiped.

    how long does it take to wipe? i think my screen has been frozen for 20 minutes. is this normal? what should i do?

  2. #2
    Subzac's Avatar
    Subzac no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    24FD595D
    Posts
    24

    Re: password wipe

    have you tried pulling the battery out and replacing it after 20 sec or so.

  3. #3
    snarkoleptik's Avatar
    snarkoleptik no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    32

    Re: password wipe

    yes i did. i even tried reinstalling the software with desktop manager still the hourglass.

  4. #4
    snarkoleptik's Avatar
    snarkoleptik no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    32

    Re: password wipe

    ok never mind, i got it. thanks though.

  5. #5
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: password wipe

    You must be patient with the BB device when doing this. There is a lot of memory to be checked when doing this.

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  6. #6
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: password wipe

    Welcome snark. Rcb is right, and I have waited 2 hours before wiping and restoring the BB.

  7. #7
    GaBulldog's Avatar
    GaBulldog no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    145

    Re: password wipe

    Welcome snark - hopefully you were able to get everything back in order. Let us know if you come across anymore problems.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    jay2004's Avatar
    jay2004 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: password wipe

    I have the same problem i have waited for more than 2 hours, what can i do?

  9. #9
    Quid's Avatar
    Quid no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: password wipe

    I have the same issue... taken over an ex employee's 8700r. It was working fine - it wanted a SIM and had the password protection. I put in my SIM from my older BB.

    Got the hourglass - left it for almost an hour... no change. Called Rogers...
    Tried another SIM - same results.

    Rogers told me to reload the OS. I downloded the Javaloader and the new OS.

    Can't get it to work because of the password. Followed instructions for wiping the unit. Both JL and DM want a password, batteries in or out!

    Any help is welcome!

    Quid

  10. #10
    likefre's Avatar
    likefre no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    870

    Re: password wipe

    Did you run the javaloder command ?
    (javaloader -usb wipe)

  11. #11
    ohad_129's Avatar
    ohad_129 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    237be374
    Posts
    444

    Re: password wipe

    how you use the jl-usb wipe?
    i downloaded before and when i try to install/load it he made nothing?

  12. #12
    Quid's Avatar
    Quid no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up Re: password wipe

    OK - Looks like I needed to read more in this forum!

    My problem with using JL -USB wipe and JL CMD was that the unit was password protected. USB -wipe just returned silently.

    It took some reading but I realized that by entering the WRONG password several times, I would effectivley wipe the password ( and all other data on the 8700)

    My concern was that I would just lock out and require devine intervention. Not the case.

    After it did a low level wipe ( via password error entry) I successfully loaded the new OS and am on my way! JL was not required because DM has a selection to erase while reloading.

    Thanks to ALL

  13. #13
    travsm3's Avatar
    travsm3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: password wipe

    Great thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •