Results 1 to 12 of 12

I have an o2 8700g with 4.1.0.284 installed- service is tmobile. Would like to go ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    tvalentine's Avatar
    tvalentine no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    203C5B1A
    Posts
    10

    os question???

    Advertisement



    I have an o2 8700g with 4.1.0.284 installed- service is tmobile. Would like to go to 351, should I go with o2's version or get the bharti? Or should I try installing the 8707g version?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063
    Quote Originally Posted by tvalentine
    I have an o2 8700g with 4.1.0.284 installed- service is tmobile. Would like to go to 351, should I go with o2's version or get the bharti? Or should I try installing the 8707g version?

    Thanks
    I would suggest goin to the newest Bharti... it's much more stable and it has a zen theme

  3. #3
    mcgowan08's Avatar
    mcgowan08 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    24053627
    Posts
    435
    Can someone on this thread direct me to instructions on installing bharti? I'm with Verizon. Is there a benefit in going to bharti or is the os I currently have installed (I have the most current Verizon offers)sufficient?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    I'm not sure that a GSM based OS will work on your CDMA based BB. Maybe cp will have a better answer for this. Until he pipes in on this, I wouldn't do the update, unless you don't mind messing around with reloads and uninstalls.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  5. #5
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661
    I tried to do the GSM update and was unsuccessfull...

    About halfway through the update DM will spit out some errors about missing files. I created a hybrid OS, mix of GSM and CDMA but didnt load properly.

    Ive given up...

  6. #6
    amdot9898's Avatar
    amdot9898 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    400cd225
    Posts
    53
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    tvalentine's Avatar
    tvalentine no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    203C5B1A
    Posts
    10
    Thanks flash24, downloaded the lastest Bharti followed the install instructions and all is well.

  8. #8
    mcgowan08's Avatar
    mcgowan08 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    24053627
    Posts
    435
    Thanks for the help.
    PIN - 24053627

  9. #9
    redbullny's Avatar
    redbullny no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: os question???

    Hey tvalentine,

    I see that you are using an o2 branded 8700g with T-Mobile. Can you please tell me where you got it unlocked? I just bought a 8700g locked to o2 off of ebay and there is no website or service on ebay that can unlock this phone. They all tell me to get it from o2 but I am not even subscribed to o2.

    I would appreciate any help. Thanks.

  10. #10
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: os question???

    redbullny, welcome to pinstack.
    you can use www.gsmphonesource.com
    they have been used (with complete satisfaction) by many pinstack users.

  11. #11
    redbullny's Avatar
    redbullny no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: os question???

    Thanks cherrichiodo. I will give them a try although a 100 bux is quite steep.

  12. #12
    tvalentine's Avatar
    tvalentine no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    203C5B1A
    Posts
    10

    Re: os question???

    redbullny, I picked up mine from ebay as well but, it was already unlocked. The problem I had was that I could not setup my bis account because there was one already associated to the phone. So, I had to call o2 in Ireland to have the association removed. I just got the phone bill last week - expensive. You won't go wrong with gsmphonesource, I purchased a phone from them last year - great service.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •