Results 1 to 13 of 13

I just loaded OS4.5 on to my BB8800 and now it endlessly reboots, w/o taking ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    ablefton's Avatar
    ablefton no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24a0f56c
    Posts
    94

    Thumbs down OS 4.5 stuck in an endless reboot cycle.

    Advertisement



    I just loaded OS4.5 on to my BB8800 and now it endlessly reboots, w/o taking a breath. Is there any help for this? Do I have to reinstall 4.2?
    -------------------------------
    Andrew (Gaithersburg, MD)

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Two questions:

    1. You DID download the OS for your specific device, correct? 8820 software will NOT work on the 8800.

    2. Do you have a media card in the phone?

    Thanks,
    Roger

  3. #3
    ablefton's Avatar
    ablefton no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24a0f56c
    Posts
    94

    endless reboot response

    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Two questions:

    1. You DID download the OS for your specific device, correct? 8820 software will NOT work on the 8800.

    2. Do you have a media card in the phone?

    Thanks,
    Roger

    Yes, Roger, I did download specifically 8800 4.5, and I do have a media card. Should I remove it?
    -------------------------------
    Andrew (Gaithersburg, MD)

  4. #4
    sithberry's Avatar
    sithberry no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    247b0914
    Posts
    45
    how long does the reboot cycle(hour glass ) take. and if the media card is in blackberry,what will happen?

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by ablefton View Post
    Yes, Roger, I did download specifically 8800 4.5, and I do have a media card. Should I remove it?
    Yes, take the card out and see what happens. A lot of people have experienced this sort of thing by leaving the media card in during the install.

    If the rebooting stops upon removal of the card, I would suggest you save everything off the card onto your PC, put the card back in the phone and then reformat it in the phone.

  6. #6
    ablefton's Avatar
    ablefton no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24a0f56c
    Posts
    94

    4.5 works but without memory card; not with

    I took the expanded memory out of my 8800 and OS4.5 works fine. I replace the memory and the moment I do, the BB reboots and I'm off again to infinite cycleland. It doesn't even give me the chance to reformat the expanded memory chip.
    Signed - 'Stuck'

    -------------------------------
    Andrew (Gaithersburg, MD)

  7. #7
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    able,

    Are you able to re-format the card with your PC? If so try that before installing in your device.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #8
    XLiMBS's Avatar
    XLiMBS no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    20F3D846
    Posts
    767
    Quote Originally Posted by sithberry View Post
    great news....fully installed 4.5.055 on to my tmo 8100.its running flawlessly.no noticible bugs or gliches.one question though,if i have the fave 5's,do the call features still aply.meaning can i change them and are the five still free?
    Please, no threadjacking!! It's more than easy for you to make your own dedicated to your specific question, but yes you still keep the benifits of myfaves. Just refresh them from the T-Mobile site and you should get the app back on your handset.

  9. #9
    sithberry's Avatar
    sithberry no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    247b0914
    Posts
    45
    sorry about that....reboot time did take along while but everything was fine after that.

  10. #10
    gr8cop's Avatar
    gr8cop no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    185
    Good info Gary, I learned it the hard way, but once you get that media card reformated everything should work fine. I took it one step further and used media manager to convert my media, I found that some of the media I was saving wasn't compatible for some reason, this allowed me to get rid of the bad files. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    ablefton's Avatar
    ablefton no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24a0f56c
    Posts
    94
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    able,

    Are you able to re-format the card with your PC? If so try that before installing in your device.
    I don't have a way to reformat the ext'd memory on my PC, but I will get a device and do so. Putting the chip into my BB only causes it to recycle. Tks.
    -------------------------------
    Andrew (Gaithersburg, MD)

  12. #12
    CuteEvil's Avatar
    CuteEvil no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    2551C0B1
    Posts
    22
    MY curve started rebooting after installing 4.5 OS .... can't remember which build was it but taking memory card didnt help either.

    It was replaced under warranty without any problems and now I have a new one with the 4.5 installed without any issues.

  13. #13
    pedrokeller's Avatar
    pedrokeller no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    8
    It's definetly an issue with memory card format. This can easily be resolved by formating the card w/ a PC

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •