Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Hello all. I am a newb. And having trouble with installing the Verizon official OS. ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    fourfaced's Avatar
    fourfaced no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    16

    One of the many having trouble with Verizon..

    Advertisement



    Hello all. I am a newb. And having trouble with installing the Verizon official OS.

    It's installed in the DM (v4.5) but it won't load into my phone. It says it's looking for updates and then...nothing.

    In a few of the other threads, I saw a bunch of things to try, such as deleting the vendor file but I have nightmares about bricking my phone. Anyone willing to hold my hand in this?

  2. #2
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    you have the 4.5 os installed or just the DM 4.5?

  3. #3
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    Also if you have Verizon and are using the Verizon 4.5os then you will not need to delete the vender file.

  4. #4
    fourfaced's Avatar
    fourfaced no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by gixxerjoe View Post
    you have the 4.5 os installed or just the DM 4.5?
    Both. And I looked in the Help>About area of the DM and it says Device Software 4.5.0.77 (Platform 3.2.0.51) for the Blackberry Smartphone 8330

    And that's what I thought! But I see on some threads and even in other forums, people telling others to delete it! Grr!

  5. #5
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    try rebooting your pc then do a battery pull on your bb. and then try to reconnect your blackberry. it should automaticly look for updates for your device. Also make sure to do a backup on your device before you start.

  6. #6
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    And if any body else has some suggestions jump in here

  7. #7
    fourfaced's Avatar
    fourfaced no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by gixxerjoe View Post
    try rebooting your pc then do a battery pull on your bb. and then try to reconnect your blackberry. it should automaticly look for updates for your device. Also make sure to do a backup on your device before you start.
    I restarted 3 times. Uninstalled and re-installed the OS 4 times, did 4 battery pulls (once because I forgot to remove my SD card) and uninstalled and reinstalled the DM twice. :cry:

    It looks for updates and...that's it.

    I'm 99% sure I did everything right (repeatedly). I think she's (my Curve) is just being stubborn.

  8. #8
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    You normally don't have to delete vendor.xml but some have and then been able to load the OS. Helped a guy earlier and finally had him delete OS and DM and reboot. Then reinstall and reboot. Then plug in device and start DM. Might try it if nothing else works for you.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Ok you posted as I did have you unistalled all and delete RIM folder from your pc?(Clean uninstall)~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    Hmmm.... Well I am at a loss than. I am gonna have to let one of the one of the super experts jump in from here. Wish I could have been more help. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    fourfaced's Avatar
    fourfaced no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by gixxerjoe View Post
    Hmmm.... Well I am at a loss than. I am gonna have to let one of the one of the super experts jump in from here. Wish I could have been more help. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Thank you so much though! I didn't think anyone would respond in the first place.

  12. #12
    fourfaced's Avatar
    fourfaced no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    Ok you posted as I did have you unistalled all and delete RIM folder from your pc?(Clean uninstall)~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    ...I have not done that. Delete the RIM folders in Program Files and Common Files after uninstalling both?

  13. #13
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Correct!~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  14. #14
    fourfaced's Avatar
    fourfaced no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    Correct!~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Alright, uninstalling the DM now. Thank you so much for your help. I hope this works.

  15. #15
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    It has for a couple and then it hasn't for a couple more. But hopefully it does for you.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •