Results 1 to 12 of 12

I tried upgrading from .167 to .190 yesterday. After having a few troubles I finally ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    carmover's Avatar
    carmover no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A059B4
    Posts
    127

    Question OK need a little help

    Advertisement



    I tried upgrading from .167 to .190 yesterday. After having a few troubles I finally got my Bold working properly again but found out that I still have .167 installed. I have upgraded OS's on previous devices but I can't get this one figured out.

    My process tell me what I did wrong:

    Downloaded/Installed DM 4.7
    Downloaded/Installes OS .190
    Deleted vendor.xml file
    Wiped handheld with JM_CMDER
    Opened DM
    Connected Device
    Agreed to reinstall OS
    Sat back and waited
    and waited
    and waited
    Restored Device


    I think that covers everything I did but I still have .167 when I go to Options>About

    Anyone that can give me a hand here would help out.

    Thanks,

    Keith.

  2. #2
    ccostel's Avatar
    ccostel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    132
    I thought I read in other posts that people were having trouble doing upgrades using DM 4.7. I did the upgrade using DM4.6 and didn't have any issues. Perhaps others will know more.

  3. #3
    carmover's Avatar
    carmover no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A059B4
    Posts
    127
    I hope that's not the case because I had 4.6 installed and downloading 4.7 was the longest part which would have been for nothing. But if it is I at least have the CD so I don't have to DL again.

  4. #4
    anoxia187's Avatar
    anoxia187 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    169
    same i used dm4.6 and it worked fine for me.

  5. #5
    Berryadict's Avatar
    Berryadict no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,297
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Go to add-delete progs and delete 4.7 DM. Download 4.6. Then go back to add-delete progs again and delete your previous os version, leaving only the one you downloaded to upgrade. That may have been prob, leaving previous version on pc

  6. #6
    carmover's Avatar
    carmover no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A059B4
    Posts
    127
    I thought that might be the case but the previous version was no where to be found in add remove programs list

  7. #7
    HyperM3's Avatar
    HyperM3 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    451
    I upgraded my bold to .210 and a friends curve to 4.5 on DM 4.7. Both with no issues.

  8. #8
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673
    I'm sure it does work for some, but on average more people have much more success with DM 4.6. Sorry to hear that all that waiting might have been for nothing.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    Ge's Avatar
    Ge
    Ge no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    738
    Hang on, before you go blaming the Desktop Manager

    He wiped the OS on his BlackBerry with JL_Cmdr

    There was no OS on the BlackBerry

    My guess, you either downloaded .167 instead of .190 or you never removed .167 and it was installed again.

  10. #10
    carmover's Avatar
    carmover no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A059B4
    Posts
    127
    Finally got it to work by reverting back to DM 4.6 did nothing else and it loaded right up.

  11. #11
    carmover's Avatar
    carmover no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A059B4
    Posts
    127
    and by the way thanks for all the help today everyone!!!!

  12. #12
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by Ge View Post
    Hang on, before you go blaming the Desktop Manager

    He wiped the OS on his BlackBerry with JL_Cmdr

    There was no OS on the BlackBerry

    My guess, you either downloaded .167 instead of .190 or you never removed .167 and it was installed again.
    If in the first attempt with 4.7 he ended up with .167 it is because if the device was wiped DM 4.7 used his PIN and downloaded and installed to official OS for the device. There should have been a list showing the OS installed to the PC and the recommended OS from RIM. I myself like 4.7 and have had no issues but it goes without question as it appears in this case as well that DM 4.7 is still in need of improvement. Again it works perfect for some and really causes headaches for others and getting rid of it seems to fix issues more times than not.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •