Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

I just upgraded my Verizon 8330 to 4.5.0.77 and my browser icon disappeared. I've resent ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    redbull816's Avatar
    redbull816 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    3037A1A7
    Posts
    37

    No browser after upgrade

    Advertisement



    I just upgraded my Verizon 8330 to 4.5.0.77 and my browser icon disappeared. I've resent service books, registered with wireless network, dialed *228, and did a battery pull. I can not get it to come back. I'm on the phone with Verizon right now but something tells me they won't be able to fix it since they are morons. Does anyone have any ideas?

  2. #2
    kennedy_84's Avatar
    kennedy_84 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    302403B0
    Posts
    241
    When you did the upgrade you might have un-checked the browser box in the app loader...

  3. #3
    redbull816's Avatar
    redbull816 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    3037A1A7
    Posts
    37
    Well I just hung up with them and the guy told me to re-install the OS. They must love the fact that customers can do that themselves so they don't have to deal with it.

  4. #4
    redbull816's Avatar
    redbull816 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    3037A1A7
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by kennedy_84 View Post
    When you did the upgrade you might have un-checked the browser box in the app loader...
    When I go into my applications the Browser is in there.

  5. #5
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    So you did host routing tables and service book correct~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    redbull816's Avatar
    redbull816 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    3037A1A7
    Posts
    37
    Yes I did all of that and nothing seems to work. I guess I'll just have to try re-installing the OS and see if that works. The guy on the phone said to call back if it doesn't and they'll send me a new one. What's funny is that I'm using opera mini right now and its working fine..

  7. #7
    VR's Avatar
    VR
    VR no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    215
    have you accidently hidden it? press menu>show all
    My blackberry is anti-Obama Bin Llama

  8. #8
    n16ht5's Avatar
    n16ht5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    88
    i have the same problem!! ARGHHh


    where the button for browser in the ZEN theme is, there is just a blank HOLE. media net works to browse, and so does opera. but the standard browser is GONE. ITS IN THE HOLEEEEE..

    what do i do??/

    i tried sending service books, HRT, etc...

  9. #9
    n16ht5's Avatar
    n16ht5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    88
    how do you quickly reinstall the OS?

  10. #10
    skanarkia's Avatar
    skanarkia no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24594A12
    Posts
    104
    try different theme!
    Is Only Me And My BlackBerry....

  11. #11
    n16ht5's Avatar
    n16ht5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    88
    i cant use JL cmder because I have 64 bit..

  12. #12
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    If you do it this way delete it from pc then delete all rim traces from your pc. Reinstall OS. Delete vendor html. . Plug in BB then restart DM

  13. #13
    redbull816's Avatar
    redbull816 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    3037A1A7
    Posts
    37
    Well after a few hours my browser, email setup, and facebook icons came back. I'm guessing it was a network issue. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  14. #14
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by skanarkia View Post
    try different theme!
    This is actually a very good suggestion! In one of my earlier upgrades to 4.5 the browswer icon was missiing. I changed from the T-Mobile browser to Dimension L and there it was! No reinstalled, no DM ap loader, required.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  15. #15
    Ridicule's Avatar
    Ridicule no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    307
    You can also delete the browsing service book (Options, Advanced Options, Service Books), then go into HRT (Options, Advanced Options, Host Routing Table), hit the menu and click on Register Now. Could also be that your browsing service book somehow became corrupted.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •