Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Ok, bought an unlocked T-Mobile BB 8100 using OS version 4.2.0.42. I have service with ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    flatoutcrazy's Avatar
    flatoutcrazy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10

    New to BB

    Advertisement



    Ok, bought an unlocked T-Mobile BB 8100 using OS version 4.2.0.42. I have service with AT&T. I've searched all night and all day, tried all I can think of and I am out of options, as why I am here. I am at least trying to get the OS upgraded enough so I can use my sd cards in them (I have a 2gb which won't work in it right now). Is there a special order on how to upgrade this so it will work right. Any help/links would be appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Bluebell Wood's Avatar
    Bluebell Wood no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    282
    Here is a how to on upgrading the 0S.

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...bb_8100_a.html

  3. #3
    Bluebell Wood's Avatar
    Bluebell Wood no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    282

  4. #4
    flatoutcrazy's Avatar
    flatoutcrazy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10
    Do I need the T-mobile version, the AT&T version, or will just about any version work? Also, I searched around for the process to do this and it said to delete the vendor.xml file and couldn't find it.

  5. #5
    Bluebell Wood's Avatar
    Bluebell Wood no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    282
    You can download any OS for your device providing you remove the vendor .xml file. I cannot advise you on this as I have not done it myself.

    According to this link your current OS will support a 2gb sd card.

    [FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB05 461&sliceId=SAL_Public&dialogID=114456318&stateId= 1%200%20114450972[/FONT]

  6. #6
    zjfarmer's Avatar
    zjfarmer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    366
    Here is where the vendor.xml file is located: C:/>Program Files> Common Files> Research in Motion> AppLoader> Vendor.xml
    -- ZJ

    "If men define situations as real, they are real in their consequences." - W.I. Thomas

  7. #7
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    Use the search option on the comp to find vendor.xml and delete is. Try formatting your sd card.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    flatoutcrazy's Avatar
    flatoutcrazy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10
    I've tried 2 different cards that I know work and one I get a red flashing light, the other cycles it on and off every 4-5 seconds. Also, any help on where the vendor file is?

  9. #9
    flatoutcrazy's Avatar
    flatoutcrazy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by zjfarmer View Post
    Here is where the vendor.xml file is located: C:/>Program Files> Common Files> Research in Motion> AppLoader> Vendor.xml
    I don't have an "apploader" file.....

  10. #10
    flatoutcrazy's Avatar
    flatoutcrazy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10
    my file path goes to this:

    C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry

    and no apploader folder and no vendor file i can find.

    I've reformatted the card to fat32 twice.

  11. #11
    Don LuiG's Avatar
    Don LuiG no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    649
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ you need to download the Desktop Manager unfortunately i cant post the link right now but wait and some one will help u w that

  12. #12
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Quote Originally Posted by flatoutcrazy View Post
    my file path goes to this:

    C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry

    and no apploader folder and no vendor file i can find.

    I've reformatted the card to fat32 twice.
    It does not sound like you have installed the Operating System on your desktop. After you Download you need to execute the file to install it. And actually if you see a progam icon called Loader in this file folder you can launch that to install on your handheld...(after you delete the vendor file).


    Questions?

    EDIT-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    You are in the wrong place. You need to open COMMON FILES

    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
    Last edited by GaryF; 04-03-2008 at 05:03 PM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #13
    flatoutcrazy's Avatar
    flatoutcrazy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10
    I have desktop manager V4.3.

  14. #14
    PapaMag's Avatar
    PapaMag no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    Nadda
    Posts
    5,722
    Welcome to the stacks you'll find your answeres here

  15. #15
    flatoutcrazy's Avatar
    flatoutcrazy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10
    Ok, running desktop manager V4.3, downloaded and installed handheld os from link above, still no apploader or vendor file visible...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •