Results 1 to 14 of 14

Hey Guys & Gals, It's been a few months since I've been able to play ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    dj flyy's Avatar
    dj flyy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    244ac444
    Posts
    231

    Question Major 4.5 OS Malfunction... Expert Help Requested!

    Advertisement



    Hey Guys & Gals,

    It's been a few months since I've been able to play around on here so I'm sorry for my absence :cry:.

    Here's what happened:

    I recently upgraded my OS from a 4.4 platform to 4.5, currently running 4.5.0.81. This was fine right up until a few days ago when the phone would start doing hard resets unprovoked. Then, this morning the device did about 7 resets in a row (literally back to back, after it would run the security software check, it would reset again). On the final reset, i was left with this.......



    This resembles a Macintosh from 1984.......

    PLEASE help. I'm pretty adept with these things and I've tried troubleshooting this, but have any of you experts/moderators ever seen anything like this before?!

    Thanks all,

    dj flyy
    dj flyy

  2. #2
    jonesjj's Avatar
    jonesjj no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    153
    looks like it just didn't load the theme. Try selecting a theme in settings.

  3. #3
    studio253's Avatar
    studio253 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    40
    I agree. Theme's missing.

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    That's correct.....I had a similar issue a few months ago. Just try selecting a theme as jonesjj suggested and I bet you will be fine!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    .81 is a perfectly good OS. Are you stuck or can you do what jonesjj suggested. Post back any info/status that might help us get you going again.

    UPDATE: Sorry I started this after jonesjj's post and got interrupted ... then finished so it's late coming.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  6. #6
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    The theme is missing yes. My first question would have to be did you leave the media card inserted when you upgraded to 4.5 this has been known to cause the reset issue.

  7. #7
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    The theme is missing yes. My first question would have to be did you leave the media card inserted when you upgraded to 4.5 this has been known to cause the reset issue.
    This is just an observation, Cowboy, because I've seen a lot of users have trouble with this. I've upgraded a bunch of time to 4.5 and within 4.5 and NEVER removed a media card and NEVER had a problem. (**knocks on wood**)
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  8. #8
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by jblackfish View Post
    This is just an observation, Cowboy, because I've seen a lot of users have trouble with this. I've upgraded a bunch of time to 4.5 and within 4.5 and NEVER removed a media card and NEVER had a problem. (**knocks on wood**)
    I have also done this and never had issues while leaving the card in. I always do ask this however because it has more times than not been the reason for the reboots.

  9. #9
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    I have also done this and never had issues while leaving the card in. I always do ask this however because it has more times than not been the reason for the reboots.
    You're right. I've seen it help too many times in the stacks. Maybe someday we'll figure out what causes the card to be a problem and what doesn't.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  10. #10
    dj flyy's Avatar
    dj flyy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    244ac444
    Posts
    231
    alright, so theme's back up and running. that's the strangest thing i've ever seen.

    (and I kind of feel like a moron! something oh-so basic to fix and I looked right past it!)

    I'm going to re-load the O.S. minus the Media card, i always forget that step.

    Thanks guys
    dj flyy

  11. #11
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by dj flyy View Post
    alright, so theme's back up and running. that's the strangest thing i've ever seen.

    (and I kind of feel like a moron! something oh-so basic to fix and I looked right past it!)

    I'm going to re-load the O.S. minus the Media card, i always forget that step.

    Thanks guys
    Dj, don't beat yourself up. Sometimes it's the simple stuff that gets us - all those who haven't been caught by something simple, raise your hands. (..............no hands came up, see?)
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  12. #12
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Don't feel bad. I walk people through this all the time and when I go to do it for myself more times than I care to count I find myself sitting there looking at the device I am working on wondering what is wrong and then remember that I missed a step. Hope reloading the OS does the trick. Good Luck!!

  13. #13
    Concept's Avatar
    Concept Guest
    I'll piggyback on everyone else as mention that that theme wasn't loaded or it was deleted. No big deal.

    But I will question how in the world did you have a 4.4 OS on your phone? As far as I know all early curves came with 4.2. The later CDMA ones came with 4.3. But both GSM and CDMA versions made the jump to 4.5 without ever going to a 4.4 version.

  14. #14
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by Concept View Post
    I'll piggyback on everyone else as mention that that theme wasn't loaded or it was deleted. No big deal.

    But I will question how in the world did you have a 4.4 OS on your phone? As far as I know all early curves came with 4.2. The later CDMA ones came with 4.3. But both GSM and CDMA versions made the jump to 4.5 without ever going to a 4.4 version.
    He DID say 4.4 platform (?) - maybe there was one of those...or it's a typo - either way, it sounds like he's back on the road to recovery. That's the important thing.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •