Results 1 to 8 of 8

I'm a brand new user - and have had this same problem a couple of ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    cougar's Avatar
    cougar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs down Locked in Alpha mode?

    Advertisement



    I'm a brand new user - and have had this same problem a couple of times in seven days but have always been able to blunder my way out of it. But not today. I can't dial a number! My keys produce only alpha characters, I can't navigate menus well, my frustration level is over the top! Please help!

  2. #2
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563

    Re: Locked in Alpha mode?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    In any text field, press and hold the * key...

  3. #3
    cougar's Avatar
    cougar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: Locked in Alpha mode?

    How do I get to a text field? I've pressed the * key in several places - no luck.

  4. #4
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: Locked in Alpha mode?

    Quote Originally Posted by cougar
    How do I get to a text field? I've pressed the * key in several places - no luck.
    I believe that if you go into an email text field (new email), that should work for you.

  5. #5
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: Locked in Alpha mode?

    Oh, and Welcome to the Stacks.

  6. #6
    cougar's Avatar
    cougar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: Locked in Alpha mode?

    Thanks! I'm not convinced that my phone isn't defective. I was just able to toggle between alpha and numeric and now I can't again. Sigh. Will keep struggling with this until I can go to a Cingular store. Hope they can help.

  7. #7
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Locked in Alpha mode?

    cougar, Welcome to PinStack.

    Does the Alt key not give you numbers. Try a Cold Reboot (Battery Out, wait 15-30 sec, Battery Back in) and see if that works. If not then I would go back to the store.

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with this problem or your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  8. #8
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Locked in Alpha mode?

    welcome to pinstack.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •