Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 56

So I upgraded my DM to 4.5.0.15 and downloaded UK's 4.5 OS. I've been extensively ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    hagop37's Avatar
    hagop37 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    244BE076
    Posts
    54

    Last words before upgrade to 4.5...

    Advertisement



    So I upgraded my DM to 4.5.0.15 and downloaded UK's 4.5 OS.

    I've been extensively reading the boards about some issues, some minor, some major and feel the need to take the plunge!

    My question is; if I want to downgrade to Tmo's 4.2.2.180, is it as simple as downloading it and installing it?

    Or is this gamble of an upgrade irreversible?

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    There is pretty much nothing that isn't reversible. You've got the support of us here at PinStack to help resolve any issues you might encounter, so have at it and good luck!

    Roger

  3. #3
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235
    Yeah between all the stackers here, your sure to find what you need.
    Last edited by thbassman; 08-13-2008 at 01:21 PM. Reason: sp
    THBASSMAN

    Carpe Diem!!

    thbassmanatpinstackdotcom

    Check this out!!! Mobiletropolis

    My TORCH Rocks!

  4. #4
    bayzbol44's Avatar
    bayzbol44 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    24320950
    Posts
    124
    I took the plunge yesterday and it has been fantastic so far! Just wish, I would have done it sooner. :-)

  5. #5
    hagop37's Avatar
    hagop37 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    244BE076
    Posts
    54

    I'm nervous, it's upgrading as I type...

    I'm not sure what to expect, or if this was the right move!

    Damn, I think i'm regretting pressing that "NEXT" button.......!

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by hagop37 View Post
    I'm not sure what to expect, or if this was the right move!

    Damn, I think i'm regretting pressing that "NEXT" button.......!
    It could very well take up to an hour, so be patient! It's all gonna be okay!

  7. #7
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by hagop37 View Post
    I'm not sure what to expect, or if this was the right move!

    Damn, I think i'm regretting pressing that "NEXT" button.......!
    Hagop! haha a fellow I took the plunge! its great! 4.5 is the way to go my friend!
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  8. #8
    hagop37's Avatar
    hagop37 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    244BE076
    Posts
    54
    LOL, thanks Koko. We'll see what the heck happens in a few minutes...

    I hope I don't regret it!

  9. #9
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    You'll be good man, don't sweat it! Just let it do its thing, it can take up to 30minutes.

    Let me know if you need anything! and keep us posted with your status!
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  10. #10
    hagop37's Avatar
    hagop37 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    244BE076
    Posts
    54

    Just finished!

    So far so good! Just rebooted for the first time.

    I'll play around with it and report back. Thanks to everyone and their input.

    H

  11. #11
    hagop37's Avatar
    hagop37 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    244BE076
    Posts
    54

    Differences after upgrading to 4.5 (UK)

    Ok, so thanks to everyone for their support. I've upgraded and things seems to be ok...

    Here is what I've noticed so far:

    1. Smaller font/lettering in the BB Messenger list
    2. Much better icons in the Call Log; color-contrast
    3. Additional view for Pictures
    4. Video Recording!
    5. Color-coded calendar entries for each email account
    6. HTML email viewing
    7. Voice Recorder with longer limits
    8. New "sort view" in Phonebook
    9. "Memory Cleaner" option under Security
    10. Browsers wording has changed from Wi-Fi Browser to "Hotspot Browser"
    11. One additional theme ("L")
    12. Calling or Receiving call screen is different than the applied theme
    Thats' what I have for now. I've only had to reboot once so far, hopefully that's it. Wi-Fi seems to be working ok...

  12. #12
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Hang in there, hagop37. You've just about made it through. If you hit a "snag" that you can't figure out post it back in here and get some help. Most of the problems are fixable or VERY minor.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  13. #13
    Morgase's Avatar
    Morgase no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    1,118
    You can always wipe the bb and load the previous OS if you don't like your changes. Give it a few days and try to work out any little quirks you find. I did mine a couple weeks ago and haven't looked back.
    Sometimes at night, the Moon howls and the Wolves listen.

    ~Morgase~
    Device Pro, Bellshare Moderator

    For Bellshare support please go to:
    Bellshare Customer Service

  14. #14
    TorturedNacho's Avatar
    TorturedNacho no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    208EB87C
    Posts
    684
    You know i dont even see the video recorder when i upgraded? .
    Chalked it up to because im on a 8100?

  15. #15
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by TorturedNacho View Post
    You know i dont even see the video recorder when i upgraded? .
    Chalked it up to because im on a 8100?
    That's it, Tortured. The 8100 can't do video - sorry.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •