Results 1 to 12 of 12

I have no clue how to install the new O.S., and I really want it. ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    coltonallen3's Avatar
    coltonallen3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    20731601
    Posts
    13

    Question HELP?! - O.S. 4.5 Installation

    Advertisement



    I have no clue how to install the new O.S., and I really want it. If you can help me with it, I would really appreciate it.

  2. #2
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877
    Check out hayden's instructions in This post.

    Also This one.

  3. #3
    coltonallen3's Avatar
    coltonallen3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    20731601
    Posts
    13
    I've tried.. I think I am just going to delete my O.S. from my computer, and start the download again..

  4. #4
    coltonallen3's Avatar
    coltonallen3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    20731601
    Posts
    13
    Thank you It work.
    I'm right happy now, the themes I have made for my phone will finally work.

  5. #5
    JohnnyJB04's Avatar
    JohnnyJB04 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    40
    Anyway to upgrade to 4.5 through OTA?

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyJB04 View Post
    Anyway to upgrade to 4.5 through OTA?
    No, the only way to do it right now is to download to your PC and install through Desktop Manager.

  7. #7
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    No, the only way to do it right now is to download to your PC and install through Desktop Manager.
    that's what i thought rogo.there was a post a week or so ago about someone on craigs list charging 25 bucks to "flash" your phone with 4.5 os remotely.what was that all about?
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  8. #8
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    i found the post
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ad.php?t=86341
    i think raton had the answer.
    posted by raton:
    "I'm thinking remote access to your pc and they'll probably link it to your pc and load the os to the bb via pcanywhere or some sort. But i could be wrong lol"
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  9. #9
    Ridicule's Avatar
    Ridicule no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    307
    catstide, that post was removed:
    This posting has been deleted by its author.

    (The title on the listings page will be removed in just a few minutes.)

    Other than minor patches, I don't see that upgrades will ever be available OTA (they're just too big). It'd be ok for those folks with wifi devices and unlimited data plans (provided they have media cards).

    Mind you...when the carriers get their networking issues resolved for 3G, the landscape's going to change...

  10. #10
    JohnnyJB04's Avatar
    JohnnyJB04 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    40
    Can this be done on a Mac?

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Upgrades require Desktop Manager which currently isn't supported on a Mac. You'd have to have a Windows partition of some sort set up for this.

  12. #12
    Ridicule's Avatar
    Ridicule no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    307
    JohnnyJB04 - I know that people have DM working under windows under a VMWare fusion session, running on top of Leopard.
    Unfortunately, there isn't currently native support for upgrading your device under OSX.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •