Results 1 to 10 of 10

Im finally gonna do it. I have two quick questions for you techs. (1) Will ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481

    Going to install 4.5 on my 8310

    Advertisement



    Im finally gonna do it. I have two quick questions for you techs. (1) Will I need to delete my current 4.2.2 DTM and install the 4.5 before I get started? (2) I have upgraded my 8100 to 4.2.1 and the OS is still on my PC, will I need to delete that before downloading the 4.5? I dont think the 4.5 DTM will recognize the 8100 OS, but I want to be sure. Any guidance will greatly be appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    1. No you don't have to delete the 4.2 OS and yes you'll have to install the 4.5 OS, then delete the vendor.xml file.
    2. No

    Good luck!

  3. #3
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    1. No you don't have to delete the 4.2 OS and yes you'll have to install the 4.5 OS, then delete the vendor.xml file.
    2. No

    Good luck!
    Thanks much. Ive done it before on my 8100, but I'll have to delete my 8310s DTM and install the 4.5DTM, right?

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    No, you can use the 4.3 DTM. It will recognize which device you have connected.

  5. #5
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    Bummer, I deleted it, but......Im doin good-loaded 4.5 onto my PC, and deleted the Vendor files. Now I have to go back and load the 4.5 DTM. Thanks for your help RoGro

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by chokem View Post
    Bummer, I deleted it, but......Im doin good-loaded 4.5 onto my PC, and deleted the Vendor files. Now I have to go back and load the 4.5 DTM. Thanks for your help RoGro
    No worries! Hope all goes well, which it should, but if not, you've got myriad others here to assist you in your time of need!

  7. #7
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    went off without a hitch. installed 4.5 DTM and the new OS-SAWEET!!!!!!

  8. #8
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Great! Glad it worked out for you! Congrats on the successful install!

  9. #9
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    thanks again for your help!

  10. #10
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    You're welcome! That's what we're here for!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •