Results 1 to 12 of 12

Does anyone have a detailed list on how to downgrade from bbm 5.0 back to ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    pmarshall's Avatar
    pmarshall no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3,085

    detailed instructions to downgrade bbm 5.0

    Advertisement



    Does anyone have a detailed list on how to downgrade from bbm 5.0 back to original os bbm? Thanks
    HAHA HERO, MY TOUCH

  2. #2
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    How did you install it, OTA or via DM?
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  3. #3
    pmarshall's Avatar
    pmarshall no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3,085
    Most of the people prolly dled it through ota...
    BlackBerry9630/4.7.1.40 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/294

  4. #4
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    If they have the OS that is currently on their BB installed on their computer, then they just need to hook up to the DM and open the application loader and it should detect that there are files that don't belong and it will prompt them to downgrade. This will remove the 5.0 BBM .cods and replace them with the ones that go with that OS.
    BlackBerry8330/4.5.0.169 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/106

  5. #5
    pmarshall's Avatar
    pmarshall no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3,085
    When i did this..dm told me there was a downgrade..it went through installation and after it was done .no bbm. even after a batt pull. Is there another way to downgrade withought wipind the device?
    HAHA HERO, MY TOUCH

  6. #6
    getsugatensho's Avatar
    getsugatensho no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,194
    Hey marshall, you have to reload the OS on the device so it will delete the newer bbm and replace it with the one from the OS. If you do it through the apoader it will completely delete the bbm. I shouldn't have to remind ypu todo a backup should I?
    BlackBerry9530/4.7.0.122 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by pmarshall View Post
    When i did this..dm told me there was a downgrade..it went through installation and after it was done .no bbm. even after a batt pull. Is there another way to downgrade withought wipind the device?
    Did you make sure the box was checked for BBM in the applications list? You should be able to install it again this way through DM, otherwise you'll have to reload the OS as suggested (and make sure all the appropriate boxes are checked).

  8. #8
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Just checking the obvious, was BBM checked in the list of install apps?

    I have upgraded and downgraded BBM 5 several times without issue.
    BlackBerry8330/4.5.0.169 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/106

  9. #9
    getsugatensho's Avatar
    getsugatensho no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,194
    Yeah that's the easy way to do it lol. If you click the non-5.0, I think it says remove. I don't remember and I dont have my computer with me right now.
    BlackBerry9530/4.7.0.122 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105

  10. #10
    pmarshall's Avatar
    pmarshall no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3,085
    Yeh... ive done this many times..i was basically looking for a step by step i guess. So app loader is the easiest...not DM?
    HAHA HERO, MY TOUCH

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Either way, the OS applications list should have BBM in it.

  12. #12
    pmarshall's Avatar
    pmarshall no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3,085
    coo..ima type it up.. thanks everyone!
    HAHA HERO, MY TOUCH

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •