Results 1 to 11 of 11

What happens if you install the OS for another Carrier on you Blackberry 8100?... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    fieryknight's Avatar
    fieryknight no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    2425F228
    Posts
    58

    Curiosity :)

    Advertisement



    What happens if you install the OS for another Carrier on you Blackberry 8100?

  2. #2
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    I doubt anyone tried this unless it was by mistake.
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro2 & I'm not coming back! :D

    --HeavyC.

  3. #3
    fieryknight's Avatar
    fieryknight no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    2425F228
    Posts
    58
    Yea thats why im asking.. to see who has..

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Actualy that is no problem -- OS is DEVICE specific, not carrier.

    You can install the OS from any carrier. Simply DL & INSTALL on your desktop, find and delete the vendor.xml file, and when you connect your phone and launch Destktop Manager you will be prompted to upgrade.

    More details / How To's/ and links to device OS can be found in my blog.

    Hope this helps!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    fieryknight's Avatar
    fieryknight no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    2425F228
    Posts
    58
    So i can download the new OS from Vondafone and use it on my T-mobile Pearl?

  6. #6
    tws777's Avatar
    tws777 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    Quote Originally Posted by fieryknight View Post
    So i can download the new OS from Vondafone and use it on my T-mobile Pearl?
    It is compatible, yes. Just make sure you dl the correct OS for your model.

  7. #7
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Correct. Get the 8100 version, dont forget to INSTALL it on your desktop after you DL, then find and delete the vendor file....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~yes no issues at all as long as its the one for your device and you delete the vendor.xml file

  9. #9
    fieryknight's Avatar
    fieryknight no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    2425F228
    Posts
    58
    I didnt delete my vendor.xml when i installed the beta 4.5 OS and it seems to be working fine. Even when i downgraded back to .107 it still was on file.

  10. #10
    sickchilly's Avatar
    sickchilly no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    20CFA98A
    Posts
    55
    Don't do it... a kitten will die.
    -T

  11. #11
    gkast1's Avatar
    gkast1 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    244F596F
    Posts
    2,381
    It's called "tickling the dragon's tail". You don't delete a file you ought to, you fool
    around with settings, service books, adjustments... At some point it turns around and bites you.

    Assuming you have a LOT of time on your hands...why not...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •