Page 8 of 31 FirstFirst ... 345678910111213 ... LastLast
Results 106 to 120 of 459

Originally Posted by mbatm27 I'm tempted to try this, but the vendor.xml delete thing worries ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #106
    ConstantineXVI's Avatar
    ConstantineXVI no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    244EB7DA
    Posts
    102

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by mbatm27 View Post
    I'm tempted to try this, but the vendor.xml delete thing worries me. Is this a file on the phone or computer?
    It's on your computer. Normally, it's supposed to help the Desktop Manager keep OS versions apart betwen carriers. Delete it, and it doesn't do the carrier checks. Absolutely no harm can come of it.
    Information should be free. Avoid trapping it in PMs/PINs if you can.

  2. #107
    mbatm27's Avatar
    mbatm27 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    35

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by ConstantineXVI View Post
    It's on your computer. Normally, it's supposed to help the Desktop Manager keep OS versions apart betwen carriers. Delete it, and it doesn't do the carrier checks. Absolutely no harm can come of it.
    Okay, sounds good. Thanks.

  3. #108
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by mbatm27 View Post
    I'm tempted to try this, but the vendor.xml delete thing worries me. Is this a file on the phone or computer?
    FYI, The “vendor.xml” file is found at C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  4. #109
    vi2tq's Avatar
    vi2tq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    11

    my update is hanging

    I am currently updating the OS to the new one on my 8310, I was a bit worried that the installation was at a standstill but apparently it is loading now... advice to you all, be patient, it apparently takes awhile. I am crossing my fingers it will work.

  5. #110
    vi2tq's Avatar
    vi2tq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    11
    oops typo 8320 Curve on Tmobile

  6. #111
    HeyMrRadio's Avatar
    HeyMrRadio no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,290
    For anybody that uses zen themes, when you hit the BB button to show all the icons does the banner change? This was an issue with the beat software, just wondering if its fixed...

  7. #112
    joelwag's Avatar
    joelwag no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    24264C42
    Posts
    25

    Thumbs up Woooohoooo

    I thought that I would give this a try last night, I have an 8320 on TMo. Although it took more like 1hr30min not 15-20 min, it works GREAT so far no bugs or glitches. I am SOOOO EXCITED!

  8. #113
    joelwag's Avatar
    joelwag no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    24264C42
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by HeyMrRadio View Post
    For anybody that uses zen themes, when you hit the BB button to show all the icons does the banner change? This was an issue with the beat software, just wondering if its fixed...
    Yes it still does that. I don't see it as much of a problem. Just happy to finally get this OS.

  9. #114
    vi2tq's Avatar
    vi2tq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    11
    Tell me about it this takes forever... started at 10:00 and still going 11:15 now... good thing I have the morning off to do this.

  10. #115
    ConstantineXVI's Avatar
    ConstantineXVI no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    244EB7DA
    Posts
    102
    Yeah, it always takes forever to (re)load the OS. BGR said the Bold only takes six minutes though. Don't know if the speed bump had to do with 4.6 or the Bold though.
    Information should be free. Avoid trapping it in PMs/PINs if you can.

  11. #116
    vailbear's Avatar
    vailbear no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    242693D1
    Posts
    48
    Will these affect the SIM card like earlier versions did?

  12. #117
    mbatm27's Avatar
    mbatm27 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by vi2tq View Post
    Tell me about it this takes forever... started at 10:00 and still going 11:15 now... good thing I have the morning off to do this.
    Same here... I feel like a kid waiting in line to get into Disneyland! "Hurry up already!"

  13. #118
    ConstantineXVI's Avatar
    ConstantineXVI no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    244EB7DA
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by vailbear View Post
    Will these affect the SIM card like earlier versions did?
    No, that seemed to be a one-time only glitch, with the T-Mobile 8320 with a T-Mobile SIM. I have not heard of it happening again.
    Information should be free. Avoid trapping it in PMs/PINs if you can.

  14. #119
    nito80's Avatar
    nito80 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2426f5fb
    Posts
    46
    works perfectly.. i really like how clean the address book looks now... and the e mail... now to test out the uma connection...

    otherwise i'm happy with it!

  15. #120
    mount2073's Avatar
    mount2073 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    For some reason, when I try to access Google Maps or my Gmail application, it locks up and I have to pull the battery. any ideas?

Page 8 of 31 FirstFirst ... 345678910111213 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •