Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Guys, I have just upgraded my OS to 4.5 and everything is great but...the browser ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    bushey's Avatar
    bushey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    askplz
    Posts
    76

    the browser icon is gone after updating to OS 4.5...

    Advertisement



    Guys,

    I have just upgraded my OS to 4.5 and everything is great but...the browser icon is gone and I have no idea where it went...so I wiped my bb and it hasn't changed a thing.... how can I get it back?

    and two, the pinstack website does not load into my bb at all...it looks like it is actually on pinstack website but the whole screen is blank!!! and just to tell you, I am definitely able to surf on the net and browse some other sites....so what the hell is going on?? I am losing my head beacuse of it.... any help would be deeply appreciated!!!
    Keep yourself nice.

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Bushey,

    So....do we have a browser or not?

    If we do then launch it and hit MENU - Options - General Properties and set your Default Browser to Internet Browser...see if that helps....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    drew4flt72's Avatar
    drew4flt72 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    520
    Why would you wipe your device?? The solution for the browser icon not showing up would be to resend your service books.

  4. #4
    bushey's Avatar
    bushey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    askplz
    Posts
    76
    sorry for not being precise...I am able to lauch the browser by using my network provider's logo icon on the screen, but I am thinking about the native Blackberry browser icon that is missing from my screen...

    also I have resent the service books like 5times already...that was the first thing I did after upgrading
    Last edited by bushey; 07-29-2008 at 05:25 PM.
    Keep yourself nice.

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Have you tried resending your service books? Thought I've seen elsewhere on the Stacks that people who have done that got their browser icon back.

    Also, check your settings in the browser. They need to be set a certain way for the PinStack Launcher to function properly.

    Open the browser, hit tbe BB menu button and go to Options>Browser Configuration. Browser should be set to Internet Browser, all items should be checked, Show Images should be On WML & HTML Pages and the Emulation Mode should be set to Microsoft IE (although I've heard Netscape works as well).

    Roger

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    LOL! Lots of people helping you Bushey!

  7. #7
    bushey's Avatar
    bushey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    askplz
    Posts
    76
    I have resent the service books indeed....like 6 times already...and nothing has changed!

    Everything in the browser settings is set as you said, and still nothing! I cannot get to the pinstack website on my BB!!! damn it....
    Keep yourself nice.

  8. #8
    nihado's Avatar
    nihado no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    243F2CAA
    Posts
    36
    ok here is what i did when this happened to me let me know if it works...

    Settings > Advanced Options > Host Routing Table > Register Now (You can register any line)

    Thats should fix the browser and all the service books.
    N i H a D

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Bushey,

    Have you tried using App Loader and making sure the Browser is showing as installed?

    Also a battery pull may help.
    Last edited by GaryF; 07-29-2008 at 06:35 PM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    Sorry for the simple reply: Are you sure it is not hidden? applications>menu(left of trk ball)>show all.

  11. #11
    oldgeek's Avatar
    oldgeek no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    174
    When I upgraded my wifes 8100 to 4.5 I had the same problem, the Media Net icon was there but not the Internet Browser. I never did get it figured out because there were other problems with the release I installed so I downgraded and it came back. With the latest 4.5 release though the other issues are supposed to solved so I'll be upgrading again pretty soon and hopefully the browser will come back. Yes, I resent the service books as well.

  12. #12
    HeyMrRadio's Avatar
    HeyMrRadio no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,290
    Quote Originally Posted by nihado View Post
    Settings > Advanced Options > Host Routing Table > Register Now (You can register any line)

    Thats should fix the browser and all the service books.
    ^^ Thats the ticket.

  13. #13
    ej's Avatar
    ej
    ej no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    280A5A37
    Posts
    382
    When you go to the web like this you are using the wap browser not the BB browser. I had this problem as well I sent the service books and it worked for me after a battery pull hope this helps
    Quote Originally Posted by bushey View Post
    sorry for not being precise...I am able to lauch the browser by using my network provider's logo icon on the screen, but I am thinking about the native Blackberry browser icon that is missing from my screen...

    also I have resent the service books like 5times already...that was the first thing I did after upgrading

  14. #14
    bushey's Avatar
    bushey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    askplz
    Posts
    76
    Okay. so I upgraded my bb one more time, resent the books, I registered all 3 available lines in host routing table but.........

    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Open the browser, hit tbe BB menu button and go to Options>Browser Configuration. Browser should be set to Internet Browser, all items should be checked, Show Images should be On WML & HTML Pages and the Emulation Mode should be set to Microsoft IE (although I've heard Netscape works as well).
    Roger
    in browser options the only available browser is my network provider's one...the Emulation Mode is Blackberry and that is the only choice... so what is going on????

    just to confirm, the Blackberry browser is loaded into my device, it appears in the application list.

    The Pinstack website still cannot load properly on the screen, which is blank!

    Other websites do load and work fine, so what am I missing??

    I swear to God, I am gonna downgrade to OS 4.2 if don't solve this problem and finally get it right!!!
    Keep yourself nice.

  15. #15
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by bushey View Post
    Okay. so I upgraded my bb one more time, resent the books, I registered all 3 available lines in host routing table but.........



    in browser options the only available browser is my network provider's one...the Emulation Mode is Blackberry and that is the only choice... so what is going on????

    just to confirm, the Blackberry browser is loaded into my device, it appears in the application list.

    The Pinstack website still cannot load properly on the screen, which is blank!

    Other websites do load and work fine, so what am I missing??

    I swear to God, I am gonna downgrade to OS 4.2 if don't solve this problem and finally get it right!!!
    Sounds like you still only have the MediaNet or BlackBerry browser. I can't change the emulation mode in that one either from its default of "BlackBerry". So you still only have the one icon for a browser connection? In order to get PinStack to work, you need to have the general browser application with the settings we've described above.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •