Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 81

~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ I'm beginning to wonder if what I have is .10 instead of ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #31
    fCastle's Avatar
    fCastle no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    84

    Advertisement



    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I'm beginning to wonder if what I have is .10 instead of .18 which what the link I got said it was. Hmmm

  2. #32
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Quote Originally Posted by ocanyc View Post
    I tried this on my 8320 and it didnt ask me to downgrade. Doesnt seem like .10 wants to come off.

    Any way to get the blackberry back to original state from when I purchased it?
    There is no need to wipe your device. Did you follow my steps? They are very explanitory.

    First delete the .xml vender file

    After you download your 4.5 OS or original 4.2 OS file, you have to run it, because it needs to install it. I think that is the step that people are forgetting to do.

    After install, then hook up your device through DM and got into app loader and it will recognize the new file and ask you if you want to upgrade it or downgrade it depending on what you have installed. Try that and see if it works.

  3. #33
    ocanyc's Avatar
    ocanyc no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by pdxmatts View Post
    There is no need to wipe your device. Did you follow my steps? They are very explanitory.

    First delete the .xml vender file

    After you download your 4.5 OS or original 4.2 OS file, you have to run it, because it needs to install it. I think that is the step that people are forgetting to do.

    After install, then hook up your device through DM and got into app loader and it will recognize the new file and ask you if you want to upgrade it or downgrade it depending on what you have installed. Try that and see if it works.

    I did follow all those steps and it wasnt recognizing 4.2 when I was trying to downgrade. Deleted xml file and all. Thats when I decided to load the 4.2 install manually, and I got a 523 error, couldnt get it back so then I wiped it. Of course that gave me a 507, which meant no OS was installed I think.

    I got it back to 4.2, then 4.5 .10 and now I finally got .18. Its a little better so far. I'll have to play with it more. Thanks.

  4. #34
    jbreidel's Avatar
    jbreidel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    241EDB49
    Posts
    112
    I think .18 is way nicer, I am not having half the dropped reception problem I was having with the .10. Youtube seems to be working for me without having to enter in the tcp settings. It seems faster in general like not as much lag between opening and closing things.

    WiFi in my opinion is a bit more stable with calls, although I think this might of been linked to the horrible reception problem I was having with .10.

    Overall, .18 is a must if your using the beta.

  5. #35
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    I am running .18----and I have the little red exclamation points after every text. Also, when I try to add bbm contacts by just the pin, it says it's invalid (to two different pins) so I had to make them an address book contact and add them that way. Anyone else having those issues?

    PS---anyone know why the other thread was closed?
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  6. #36
    justajason's Avatar
    justajason no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    242C7F74
    Posts
    356
    Im thinking that they closed it because of the ranting. Im having a good time listening to the heated discussion on all of the boards...
    Ugh, couldnt think of anything to change it to.

  7. #37
    vince1's Avatar
    vince1 no está en línea Community Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    3,676
    I keep on looking but cannt find it,

    This is not a request for a link.

  8. #38
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861
    Quote Originally Posted by ItsNowOrNever View Post
    when I try to add bbm contacts by just the pin, it says it's invalid (to two different pins) so I had to make them an address book contact and add them that way. Anyone else having those issues?
    That just seems to be a random BBM thing that I've never been able to figure out. Every BB and OS I've ever had, there has been at least one contact that I have to load to BBM using the "add to address book" method. Seeing it continue in 4.5 didn't surprise me as much as slightly disappoint me.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  9. #39
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861
    Quote Originally Posted by ItsNowOrNever View Post
    PS---anyone know why the other thread was closed?
    Usually, if they lock down a thread and/or make it go away, its because the Mods got tired of asking people to not violate the rules about asking for links, sending PMs to people asking for it, deleting/editing posts, etc.

    If they wind up having to babysit a thread 24/7, they'll just lock it and make life easier. Can't say as I blame them sometimes.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  10. #40
    ocanyc's Avatar
    ocanyc no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by ItsNowOrNever View Post
    PS---anyone know why the other thread was closed?
    I've modded some other sites before, and basically 400+ posts and lock it was a lil rule of thumb. Maybe thats how they think here too.

    Anyway, a couple of things I've noticed. Not sure if you guys noticed too. Youtube works for me, but some videos when i click "watch video", the media player will start up and then my curve reboots.

    Another thing, while using jivetalk, I have it set to pop up the messages that are being sent to me and they dont seem to make it to the top of screen. Well, this is when I havent seen them and I have to unlock my phone. I then have to push some buttons to get back to messenger. No biggy but.

  11. #41
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861
    Yep, works the same way around here, too, except they'll do it usually around 1,000 posts. Unless they've changed that "rule of thumb" in the last couple of months.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  12. #42
    jbreidel's Avatar
    jbreidel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    241EDB49
    Posts
    112
    I get the red exclamation point after my messages too. Doesnt bother me too much but its definitely a new feature.

  13. #43
    Amahk's Avatar
    Amahk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    242B3987
    Posts
    169
    Quote Originally Posted by jbreidel View Post
    I get the red exclamation point after my messages too. Doesnt bother me too much but its definitely a new feature.
    It was annoying at first however I just use it to tell me when I've replied to a text. I personally think they should change it to the default icon for when a message has been replied to(the mail icon with the entry carriage imposed on it) instead of the icon that makes me think it's a high priority message(mail icon with the exclamation).

  14. #44
    GeneKam's Avatar
    GeneKam no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    232D8D38
    Posts
    756
    Same here, I too have the red marks after sms. But .18 is far better, .10 kept reseting and gliching every few hours, by far it was the worst beta release that I hve tried, absolutly nothing worked. .18 on the other hanf is awsome, works quite well!
    "Drive by tornado-kicking, boy, i wish i could see that" - Yaku
    "Yeah! It was epic" - Gene

  15. #45
    NICKY88XX's Avatar
    NICKY88XX no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    1,352
    fixes the bbm contacts dissapearing for me. im very happy with it.
    www.bbmchat.com sign up today!! come follow me at www.twitter.com/bbmchat and win free blackberry of your choice and cash 1st 1,000 members. spread the word.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •