Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 81

I was running .10, then I deleted the .xml vender file, installed the original 4.2 ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #16
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702

    Advertisement



    I was running .10, then I deleted the .xml vender file, installed the original 4.2 and then hooked up the phone to the dm, it asked me if I wanted to downgraded, I clicked yes and it installed it. When I got .18, I did the same thing, deleted the vendor file, installed .18, hooked up through DM and then it asked me if I wanted to upgrade to new OS. I checked all the empty boxes that I wanted on my install and installed it. It is now running .18 and shows up in about.

    It is working much better than the .10, faster and I can watch youtube videos, I did not reformat the memory card, just took it from my 8320 and popped it in. Works fine. I did have to install softrest again, because it gave me an error. After that it works like a charm. Weathereye is working great. So far, I am very happy with it.

  2. #17
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Forgot to mention that I downloaded the 4.5.0.18 to my 8100 Pearl, so that is the device I am talking about.

  3. #18
    jayeverette's Avatar
    jayeverette no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    2437b3bd
    Posts
    172
    Does .18 even exist for 8310? I keep on reading that it does, but cant seem to actually find it. Anyone using it? is it any better then .10?

  4. #19
    justajason's Avatar
    justajason no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    242C7F74
    Posts
    356
    It does. But if you're an att member you lose your BBMaps. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #20
    jayeverette's Avatar
    jayeverette no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    2437b3bd
    Posts
    172
    Its all good! I use telenav!
    I really am getting frustrated searching google for .18. can someone give me a hint...lol. Should I be searching in altavista or something? haha

  6. #21
    untjoker's Avatar
    untjoker no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    405
    Yes its very good, and much better than .10....

  7. #22
    ocanyc's Avatar
    ocanyc no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by pdxmatts View Post
    I was running .10, then I deleted the .xml vender file, installed the original 4.2 and then hooked up the phone to the dm, it asked me if I wanted to downgraded, I clicked yes and it installed it. When I got .18, I did the same thing, deleted the vendor file, installed .18, hooked up through DM and then it asked me if I wanted to upgrade to new OS. I checked all the empty boxes that I wanted on my install and installed it. It is now running .18 and shows up in about.

    It is working much better than the .10, faster and I can watch youtube videos, I did not reformat the memory card, just took it from my 8320 and popped it in. Works fine. I did have to install softrest again, because it gave me an error. After that it works like a charm. Weathereye is working great. So far, I am very happy with it.

    I tried this on my 8320 and it didnt ask me to downgrade. Doesnt seem like .10 wants to come off.

    Any way to get the blackberry back to original state from when I purchased it?

  8. #23
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    Do you have the 4.2 installed on the desktop with the vendor.xml deleted? OR the same for the 4.3....I found it was easier to delete ALL Os's that were on the computer and have just one installed at a time.
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  9. #24
    ConstantineXVI's Avatar
    ConstantineXVI no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    244EB7DA
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by ocanyc View Post
    I tried this on my 8320 and it didnt ask me to downgrade. Doesnt seem like .10 wants to come off.

    Any way to get the blackberry back to original state from when I purchased it?
    First, BACK UP YOUR BB. Find a tool called JL_Cmder, use it to wipe your BB. Then uninstall all BB OS updates on your PC. Go to your carrier's website and download their latest version of the 8320 OS. Install it on your PC, then fire up Desktop Manager and use the app loader to install the OS the same way you installed 4.5. Finally, restore your data from the backup.

  10. #25
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    Before wiping---please make sure it's not something as simple as removing all 4.5 OS's from the computer and doing a search for vendor.xml and deleting that. Make sure also that you isntalled the 4.2 OS----not just downloaded it.
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  11. #26
    ocanyc's Avatar
    ocanyc no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    628
    Yes, before wiping I'm trying some of the suggestions. Would 4.5 be under add/remove programs on the pc? If so I removed it. I actually removed the desktop manager 4.3 as well lol. I tried to reinstall it and got an error I \got the first time I tried to instal DM 4.3

    "Error 1904, Module C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\Blackberry\1571 Connectors\ISGroupWise6.5x\GW.dll failed to register. HRESULT -2147220473. Contact your support personnel"

    Wth is that error message? Anyways, if I click ok, it continues and installs it. I was just wondering if that had anything to do with my issues and .10.

  12. #27
    ocanyc's Avatar
    ocanyc no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    628
    Ehhh....I tried to manually load 4.2 and now I got a "App Error 523: reset" error message. I've clicked the reset button but goes back to message. Any suggestions? Hope my blackberry isnt totally messed up

  13. #28
    jikdoc's Avatar
    jikdoc no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    85
    i installed .18 over .10 on a 8320 using dm 4.3. for me the process simple, i installed the .18 onto the pc, deleted vendor.xml then fired up dm4.3. hit the button for app loader and it recognized a new update, and loaded the new os.
    this was the same process i installed .10 over 4.3beta. nothing different. i'm not quite sure what's going on with your installation, to answer another question, if you want to uninstall the os, you do need to go to add/remove programs and uninstall it from your pc first.

  14. #29
    ocanyc's Avatar
    ocanyc no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    628
    Well, I was able to get my curve back to 4.2 and then to 4.5. Only, I can now say that what I had wasnt the .18 but the .10. Oh well, I'll keep searching.

  15. #30
    dallas1125's Avatar
    dallas1125 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576E92F
    Posts
    1,610
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I tried to install it but it failed.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •