Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37

any 1 haveing prob with this new so some of yall cant get back tele-nav ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    themasterusmc's Avatar
    themasterusmc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24678aad
    Posts
    115

    any prob with 4.5 so

    Advertisement



    any 1 haveing prob with this new so some of yall cant get back tele-nav and some other things what dm ould i need with the new so ty

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    I think I understand what you're asking here!

    You upgraded your device and you're missing TeleNav?

    What DM did you use to do the upgrade? That should be sufficient to restore the TeleNav application. Once you launch the DM, click on Application Loader>Add / Remove Applications. Click on the Start button. The OS on your device should load on the screen where you'll be able to scroll down and check the box for the Navigator application. Click Next and i'll load the app back onto your device.

    Hope this helps.

    Roger

  3. #3
    themasterusmc's Avatar
    themasterusmc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24678aad
    Posts
    115
    no i havent upgraded yet just want 2 know if any 1 has had any problems with it and what dm i would need i have the 8110 with 4.3 and the dm that came with it

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    No, I've upgraded several times and have yet to lose any applications.

    I'd recommend DM 4.6 which you can get here.

    Have you downloaded the OS yet? You should be able to find the latest OS for your device here.

  5. #5
    themasterusmc's Avatar
    themasterusmc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24678aad
    Posts
    115
    what should i do 1st

    wow i dont even know what so 2 pick lol got att
    Last edited by Lavagirl; 10-16-2008 at 05:03 PM.

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    The carrier or provider of the OS doesn't matter as long as it specific to your device. In other words, you don't want a Curve OS on your Pearl. It has to be for the 8110.

    Download the Desktop Manager first, then the device OS. Make sure they both install on the PC (which they should automatically, but you can check in Control Panel>Add or Remove Programs). Then follow the instructions in the link I posted above. Have patience! It could take up to an hour or more to do this, so don't freak out if you see a spinning hourglass for 20 minutes!

    Honestly, though, you sound a bit confused, so if you have no need to do the upgrade and aren't really comfortable in doing so, I'd recommend you wait until your comfort level grows a bit.

    We're here to help you though, so please don't hesitate to ask questions!

    Roger

  7. #7
    themasterusmc's Avatar
    themasterusmc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24678aad
    Posts
    115
    well iv done it 1x b4 i know i got 2 delete the vend thing n then the dm will do the rest

  8. #8
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Okay, cool. If you've done it before then that's good. Let us know if you need more help or have questions.

    Yes, just make sure you delete the vendor.xml file after you've downloaded and installed the DM and OS and you should be golden.

  9. #9
    themasterusmc's Avatar
    themasterusmc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24678aad
    Posts
    115
    ok ty

    ok download the 4.6 dm do i run it or open it iv never done this part
    Last edited by Lavagirl; 10-16-2008 at 05:03 PM.

  10. #10
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    No, now you download the OS and delete the vendor.xml file from C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research in Motion\AppLoader.

    That's when you connect to the PC and launch DM.

  11. #11
    themasterusmc's Avatar
    themasterusmc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24678aad
    Posts
    115
    ok got it now i connect bb

  12. #12
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Yes, then launch DM and it should see the upgraded OS.

  13. #13
    themasterusmc's Avatar
    themasterusmc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24678aad
    Posts
    115
    its loading the new dm so after that ill b good

  14. #14
    themasterusmc's Avatar
    themasterusmc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24678aad
    Posts
    115
    ok im stuck now deleted the vendor.xml file what now

  15. #15
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by themasterusmc View Post
    ok im stuck now deleted the vendor.xml file what now
    Sorry to keep you waiting! Connect your device to the PC and launch Desktop Manager. DM should recognize the upgrade now.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •