Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Hi, I just updated my 8100 to 4.5.0.81 I had a couple of questions. I ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    JustinHerrera's Avatar
    JustinHerrera no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    159

    A couple of questions about 4.5

    Advertisement



    Hi, I just updated my 8100 to 4.5.0.81 I had a couple of questions. I could have sworn I read that you can watch YouTube videos now with 4.5. Is there any truth to this, or was I badly mistaken? Also, with 4.2, I had the ability to hide folders and files, making them accessible only by "Exploring". With 4.5, the files show up as soon as I go to Media/Pictures. Is there anyway to hide the files with 4.5? Thank you all.

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    You CAN view videos from You Tube with 4.5.

    Do you mean hide icons on your menu - if so it's the same procedure. I'm not familiar with hiding folder and files.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    JustinHerrera's Avatar
    JustinHerrera no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    159
    Can you only view the videos on 83xx? Or can I watch them on my 8100 as well? If so, how? Also, I'm talking about actual pictures that are on my memory card. Hiding these pictures so that theyre not there when I access my media card. I have to press the application key and then explore.

  4. #4
    bajanbastard's Avatar
    bajanbastard no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    510
    I'm running 4.5.0.81 rights now and no youtube for me. In fact i can't play any flash vids on my 8100.
    Device history: 8100 > 8320 > 8900 & 9530. Keep crackin'

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Check your APN settings in Options>Advanced Options>TCP.

    Then go here and make sure you have the correct settings.

  6. #6
    JustinHerrera's Avatar
    JustinHerrera no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    159
    Nope. No dice. It won't even click on the link to watch it. I try to click on "Watch Video" and it doesn't do anything.

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Justin, what are your browser settings?

  8. #8
    JustinHerrera's Avatar
    JustinHerrera no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    159
    Oh yeah, I guess it would help if I told you I was using Opera Mini. Does I have to use the BB Browser?

  9. #9
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Did you try it with the BB browser? I honestly don't know anything about Opera Mini.

  10. #10
    JustinHerrera's Avatar
    JustinHerrera no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    159
    Yeah, it works with BB Browser. Kinda choppy but I think it just might be my network. Any idea about being able to hide my pics and folders again? Also, my BB keeps restarting itself for no reason.

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Did you do the upgrade with the media card in the device? That can cause the rebooting issue.

    I have a media card, but haven't started using it yet, so am not sure how to help you with hiding folders.

  12. #12
    bajanbastard's Avatar
    bajanbastard no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    510
    Hey JH how did you get the youtube to work on the 8100? I use the BB browser and getting the media screen w/o video is as far as i get. Thanks.
    Device history: 8100 > 8320 > 8900 & 9530. Keep crackin'

  13. #13
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by bajanbastard View Post
    Hey JH how did you get the youtube to work on the 8100? I use the BB browser and getting the media screen w/o video is as far as i get. Thanks.
    Did you check the APN settings as described above? What are your browser settings?

  14. #14
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    I'm not sure what the browser settings need to be, though, so can someone else post that information please?

    Thanks,
    Roger

  15. #15
    JustinHerrera's Avatar
    JustinHerrera no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    159
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Did you check the APN settings as described above? What are your browser settings?
    Hey Bajan, this is exactly what I did.

    Rogro: I did the upgrade the first time with my memory card in there. Then I took out my memory card and wiped my device and did a restore. Is there more that I have to do? Thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •