Results 1 to 9 of 9

In the middle of the update, DM 4.6 cannot find 8310 to finish. Help? TIA ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    DevourU's Avatar
    DevourU no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    44

    8310 OS rel108 update error 561

    Advertisement



    In the middle of the update, DM 4.6 cannot find 8310 to finish. Help? TIA

    -JS

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    if you look at it more closely, does it appear to be a 507 with a slash thru it?

    have you disconnected it from the usb cord yet? or closed DM?

  3. #3
    DevourU's Avatar
    DevourU no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    44
    Thankx for the reply. I have done several of these updates without a single problem. Now I join the brick club. It is 507, slash thru an icon. DM and USB have been reset. I also uninstalled rel108, installed down rev with same condition.

    -JS

  4. #4
    DevourU's Avatar
    DevourU no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    44
    Restarted pc. I can now find usb device, and error is again 561. DM gets as far as loading os, but cannot connect to device.

  5. #5
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    do you have the usb plugged into a hub or a laptop?

    im guessing it fails at a certain point?

  6. #6
    DevourU's Avatar
    DevourU no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    44
    PC usb port. fails at multistage installation. Sorry, I didn't get the entire message. I am trying original OS now.

    -JS

  7. #7
    DevourU's Avatar
    DevourU no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    44
    Here is the error. Unable to reconnect to the device during a multi-stage load operation. Original OS has same problem. I'm beggining to worry.

    -JS

  8. #8
    DevourU's Avatar
    DevourU no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    44
    Original OS installled! Whew. It was a combination of starting without the battery, and installing the battery while loading OS. Odd, but I'm doing better. Should I go for rel108 again?

    -JS

  9. #9
    Bloodydream's Avatar
    Bloodydream no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    18
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ Not sure about the error codes, however I had the same problem. After pacing around the room a bit I realized that I had not deleted the old OS thru the PC Control panel. I uninstalled,rebooted, deleted the vendor file and everything went well.
    It did take a while to find the device, a little longer that previous OS for me however it did eventually find it.
    I would say Yes to your trying again. You now know that you can put the origional OS back on if your unsuccessful.
    Just don't unplug and give it some time.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •