Results 1 to 14 of 14

Today I upgraded my Desktop Manager to v4.1.0.8 and also my Handheld OS to v4.1.0.256. ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    Scully's Avatar
    Scully no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    201B4F65
    Posts
    14

    Smile 7100v Software Upgrade Problem

    Advertisement



    Today I upgraded my Desktop Manager to v4.1.0.8 and also my Handheld OS to v4.1.0.256.

    Now I have lost the ability to browse the internet from my 7100v. Before there was a menu option "Browser" and now it is gone.

    Can anyone tell me what I did wrong or where I should go to resolve this?

  2. #2
    username's Avatar
    username no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    9

    Re: 7100v Software Upgrade Problem

    Q: Where's my web browser? I installed the 4.0 OS!

    Try the following steps:
    Select 'Options' on the main menu screen
    Select 'Host Routing Table'.
    Select 'Register Now' (the download might take a few moments to complete)

    This should work and cause the Internet icon to appear on some carriers. However, some carriers disable the web browser in BlackBerryOS. These carriers include Nextel, Telus, and Verizon. Cingular is now enabling the BlackBerry browser if you call and ask for it to be enabled.

  3. #3
    Scully's Avatar
    Scully no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    201B4F65
    Posts
    14

    Smile Re: 7100v Software Upgrade Problem

    Thanks for the advice but I re-registered and still no joy. The registration process works fine as I receive an email saying so.

    I knew something was up when I first hit the convenience key. This was previously set to Browse. Now the convenience key does nothing and I cannot locate any browser options at all.

    Under "Advanced Options", then sub menu ""Browser Push", I have the option to enable Push, MDS Push and WAP Push. These are all selected (as well as "Allow WAP Push Applications").

    Everything was fine when on OS v3.8 but now I'm smarting.

  4. #4
    dasupaman23's Avatar
    dasupaman23 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,362

    Re: 7100v Software Upgrade Problem

    When you go to 'Options'> 'Screen/Keyboard'... What are your settings for front Convenience Key and Side Convenience Key??? You should be able to change those to whatever you want.

  5. #5
    Scully's Avatar
    Scully no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    201B4F65
    Posts
    14

    Re: 7100v Software Upgrade Problem

    Yeah, that's right but after the 4.1 upgrade the convenience key was set to "nothing" and Browser does not appear under the list of options.

  6. #6
    dasupaman23's Avatar
    dasupaman23 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,362

    Re: 7100v Software Upgrade Problem

    You might want to try calling you carrier. They might have to provision you to have a Blackberry Browser.
    Last edited by dasupaman23; 03-17-2006 at 03:36 AM.

  7. #7
    Scully's Avatar
    Scully no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    201B4F65
    Posts
    14

    Thumbs down Re: 7100v - No Browser option in menus

    I don't suspect that the carrier is the problem because other BBs in the office work (ie Browse).

    The main issues seem to be that after the upgrade to v4.1 there was no menu option to Browse. This just dissappeared.

    One thing I failed to previously mention is about a setting under "Advanced Options" called "Enterprise Activation". It asks for an email address and a password. I have tried to activate this... but to no avail. However, this attempted activation does trigger an email from [FONT=Helv]etp@etp05.etp.ap.blackberry.netwith a message saying .....[/FONT]
    [FONT=Helv][/FONT]
    [FONT=Helv]--------------------------------[/FONT]
    [FONT=Helv][FONT=Courier New]This message is used to carry data between the BlackBerry Handheld and an associated server. Please do not delete, move or respond to this message - it will be processed by the server.

    BEGINETP 431
    AYmSTAUAAAAAIBAIMjAxQjRGNjUgFGlzaW1wc29uQGxleG1hcm suY29tAPuwt51QCU9UQUtF
    WUdFTgNAgICAgm4AAAAAARBrIpB0AYJhAUMCAK1hlEd1sMomDd/6hHMEfDwAV1z5EhPIuvsd
    bsp3/00bSwI0bN5LXmGOxx+iE1gETUdCszKNsVXrZevRayBlishVCwE BAkMDAHfQjkZBOfxR
    nOlkYi5V7C+9j39tS4IkLDTJ7ytAzYdE7pAyo1vpjX/CVHaCpbMp7lJ+JkGmu7ZeiOFdmsZ3
    GNp7AwEDBAT//5B1BgQgG09lBwEDCoE/ZAEHAQR/ERpEEAEwBQEBBwRlTxsgCwEABgEDDgEB
    CAIAAQwBAQIBICIBBQkCAAEKAgABFwkxLjguMC4xNDMTCnY0Lj EuMC4yNTYVBDcxMDAUElJl
    c2VhcmNoIEluIE1vdGlvbhYElAAJAx0EAAAAAxoEAAAAeBkIMT Y3NzczMDgEAQ8NAQEbCpgW
    ICAgAUYpEPMcDwUABQACAAIAAgECAQUIASAPAwUEBQkDAAAAAQ gJBQQEHwlZRVMgT1BUVVM!
    ENDETP -1319844108

    -------------------
    Does this make sense to anyone and what exactly do this activation do?

    More importantly, I'd still expect to at least see a "Browser" menu option, regardless of any carrier or BES issues.


    [/FONT]
    [/FONT]

  8. #8
    dasupaman23's Avatar
    dasupaman23 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,362

    Re: 7100v Software Upgrade Problem

    You don't need to use the 'Enterprise Activation', unless you are on a BES.

    If you are on a BIS you may want to contact your service provider, otherwise contact the person in charge of your company's BES.

  9. #9
    Scully's Avatar
    Scully no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    201B4F65
    Posts
    14

    Re: 7100v Software Upgrade Problem

    Thanks for the feedback.

    The Activation may be something else I'll need to work out later but why doen't the menu option "Browse" appear anymore?

    This is extremely frustrating given that it used to be there and now it isn't.

  10. #10
    jennandstar's Avatar
    jennandstar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    23CAC74E
    Posts
    3

    Re: 7100v Software Upgrade Problem

    When you installed the new desktop software you selected BlackBerry Enterprise/Redirector instead of BlackBerry Internet Service. You will need to uninstall the desktop manager and reinstall it making sure to select BlackBerry Internet Service. This will correct the messages you are receiving when you send emial. Which are not being sent most of the time. As far as the browser goes I am not sure what the issue is with that. Your device may not support the version 4.1 and if that is the case you have voided your warranty. Good luck.

  11. #11
    kroks's Avatar
    kroks no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: 7100v Software Upgrade Problem

    Hi guys,
    the same it's happen to me , I've updeted to OS 4.1 and the function browser has desappered !!!!!

    Was on the desk and working just before update .....

    Tks in advance

  12. #12
    kroks's Avatar
    kroks no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: 7100v Software Upgrade Problem

    Sorry....I've a BB 7100g ...

  13. #13
    irpnet's Avatar
    irpnet no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    202E5501
    Posts
    21

    Lightbulb Re: 7100v Software Upgrade Problem

    Something worth trying if you're not on BES.

    Go to your providers blackberry email site eg https://webclient.blackberry.net/Web...ite=mycingular (don't use this unless your carrier happens to be Cingular).

    Once logged in, there should be an option somewhere that sends the service books.

    Perhaps one of the admins here can provide a clearer explanation or the respective URL for your carrier.

    Alternatively, use SEARCH and try 'service book', without the quotes.

  14. #14
    fightinmike's Avatar
    fightinmike no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: 7100v Software Upgrade Problem

    I had the same issue after upgrading and enterprise activation, my browser wasn't working. (tmobile)

    I went to advanced options -> browser, my default browser had become intranet instead of internet, changed it and it worked. hard to see at first.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •