Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 43

ok for those that know me....ive been debating for a month or so to upgrade, ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    Angus_413's Avatar
    Angus_413 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    1,112

    Thumbs up 4.5 upgrade on 8330 finally!

    Advertisement



    ok for those that know me....ive been debating for a month or so to upgrade, but im not very tech savy. well im about to upgrade now, ive done a backup (twice) read about everything i can from all the help ive gotten on here. cross your fingers, im going in............

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    lol Good luck, Gus!

  3. #3
    grymtyrant@msn.'s Avatar
    grymtyrant@msn. no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    320
    dm 4.7 worked like sh*t for me. Might want 4.5

  4. #4
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    Good luck, you'll be just fine! Just remember, patience. Do not unplug the phone until DM tells you the process is complete.

  5. #5
    Angus_413's Avatar
    Angus_413 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    1,112
    ok i have desktop 4.6 and am trying to upgrade to 4.5os, went to verizons site to try web based upgrade but read "recomended if you dont have desktop manager installed on pc" i do have it installed, can i still upgrade this way?

  6. #6
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Best of luck gus~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    I would say you would be fine just doing even with DM.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    Angus_413's Avatar
    Angus_413 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    1,112
    ok how do i do it using just the desktop manager?

  9. #9
    Angus_413's Avatar
    Angus_413 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    1,112
    aww man i thought i did it right, as its downloading it says on desktop manager "a fatal error has occurred while upgrading your devices software" WHAT DOES THAT MEAN? fatal sounds bad lol

  10. #10
    Angus_413's Avatar
    Angus_413 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    1,112
    im bout to give up

  11. #11
    Angus_413's Avatar
    Angus_413 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    1,112
    welp i got the fatal error now i cant even get my phone to connect to the desktop manager, guess its time to throw in the towel

  12. #12
    Angus_413's Avatar
    Angus_413 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    1,112
    man it cant be this hard to upgrade, i must be doing something wrong, tried a few times and as i posted above now i cant get my phone to connect via the usb to desktop manager? im stepping out for awhile but will take any advice or help anyone would be willing to give me. If i take it to a verizon dealer will they update it for me lol

  13. #13
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    Don't give up yet. It's fixable. Follow the steps in the link below exactly, and you'll be back up and running in no time. Just be sure not to wiggle the cable when you have the install running, sometimes it has a tendency to be a little loose and can lose connection.

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...onnected-5178/

    If that still doesn't work for you, hit me up on PM, and I'll help you trouble shoot further.

  14. #14
    Angus_413's Avatar
    Angus_413 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    1,112
    Thanks motoup its 830pm eastern here about 10pm I'm gonna try again, I needed a break for a bit~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #15
    Angus_413's Avatar
    Angus_413 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    1,112
    Ok here is my new problem with this whole upgrade thing.....I got the fatal error last night while trying to upgrade. I took a break from it and started the venture again today. my desktop manager loads fine, but when i go to connect the phone it wont read it, it says NONE where my pin should be. Ive used my cord, my wifes cord, a 3rd usb cord i use for my ps3, none of them will recognize my phone, as soon as i plug it in, it reads, then 3 or 4 seconds it disapears? it will charge on the charger, and on the usb cord i use on my ps3, but when i take the cord from the ps3 to the PC it wont read it? im at my wits end with this, maybe im just doomed to be a 4.3 user lol

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •