Results 1 to 13 of 13

I just did this last night. I had the 4.3 Desktop Manager and tried to ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    krees23's Avatar
    krees23 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    63

    4.5 upgrade from t-mobile - IMPORTANT!

    Advertisement



    I just did this last night. I had the 4.3 Desktop Manager and tried to load the 4.5 O/S. Three hours later with multiple retries and panic I'll share some advice. Use the latest desktop software available when upgrading (4.6).

    It turned out the 4.3 desktop software didn't have the drivers needed, so half way through the install I would get a communication error and my BB was a brick with a blinking red light. After that, my USB connection would constantly connect /disconnect.

    I have it up and running now, I think by luck more than anything. Just thought I'd share a useful bit of info.

  2. #2
    Helmdawg's Avatar
    Helmdawg no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    90
    Quote Originally Posted by krees23 View Post
    I just did this last night. I had the 4.3 Desktop Manager and tried to load the 4.5 O/S. Three hours later with multiple retries and panic I'll share some advice. Use the latest desktop software available when upgrading (4.6).

    It turned out the 4.3 desktop software didn't have the drivers needed, so half way through the install I would get a communication error and my BB was a brick with a blinking red light. After that, my USB connection would constantly connect /disconnect.

    I have it up and running now, I think by luck more than anything. Just thought I'd share a useful bit of info.
    That's strange. Been using 4.3 DM with all my OS 4.5 upgrades (I have used many) including .81 and .93 as of late....

  3. #3
    chicknician's Avatar
    chicknician no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    10
    and i solved lot of red blinking bricked phone by just using the application loader.....
    installing the os and everything from the update...

  4. #4
    DrSuha's Avatar
    DrSuha no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    162
    Where were you able to download the 4.5 OS? I went to the Tmobile store today and was told that they officially released it 2 days ago but when I got home I don't see the download link anyway on their site.

  5. #5
    chuckymafia's Avatar
    chuckymafia no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    91
    I Used 4.2 and it ran fine.

  6. #6
    L84golf67's Avatar
    L84golf67 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by DrSuha View Post
    Where were you able to download the 4.5 OS? I went to the Tmobile store today and was told that they officially released it 2 days ago but when I got home I don't see the download link anyway on their site.
    DrSuha, try going to t-mobile.com/bbupgrade. Find your Blackberry and type in your cell phone number.

  7. #7
    DrSuha's Avatar
    DrSuha no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    162
    Quote Originally Posted by L84golf67 View Post
    DrSuha, try going to t-mobile.com/bbupgrade. Find your Blackberry and type in your cell phone number.
    That's what I did. I have the 8120 it still has 4.3.

  8. #8
    vandal337's Avatar
    vandal337 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8
    HELP!!! I'm bricked up now and can't connect to my curve 8320 and im using the 4.5 dm. I've wiped the phone with jl cmder now i have a 507 code and still won't connect can any one help?

  9. #9
    chuckymafia's Avatar
    chuckymafia no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    91
    Well now use the apploader and the software will recognize your phone. Then do the upgrade or reload and you will be good to go. Doesn't mean you are bricked. Trust me. Bricked means no response at all from apploader or anything at all. I'm a brick expert. Lol.

  10. #10
    heartsace's Avatar
    heartsace no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1
    the link for 4.6 dm is h t t p : / / w w w . vodafone.de/hilfe-support/blackberry/112014_132840.html#rights

  11. #11
    xk4yc3's Avatar
    xk4yc3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    5

    Post

    i wiped my blackberry 8120 pearl with jl_cmder, and now i've got no OS whatsoever on the device.

    i've installed the 4.5 OS for the device onto my laptop, but AppLoader doesn't know where it is, or can't recognize it.

    to top it off, my Desktop Manager doesn't recognize my blackberry anymore.

    please help

  12. #12
    xk4yc3's Avatar
    xk4yc3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    5
    fixed it. vista was giving me problems, not blackberry.

    i'm a beginner with all this blackberry stuff, but for those whose devices aren't being recognized, try the whole setup with a different computer.

    xp worked for me when vista was about to bring on a migrane.
    Last edited by xk4yc3; 11-13-2008 at 09:50 PM.

  13. #13
    LJBlazer's Avatar
    LJBlazer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    13
    i wish they would just release the official upgrade for us 8800's!!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •