Page 9 of 13 FirstFirst ... 45678910111213 LastLast
Results 121 to 135 of 182

I said I wasn't going to do it, but I demo'd 4.5 on my 8300 ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #121
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Advertisement



    I said I wasn't going to do it, but I demo'd 4.5 on my 8300 for 2 days. The install took a long time (35-45 minutes), the BB was very picky about themes, but they weren't made for the version, so that was to be expected. I was up and down about the browser. I didn't really like the amount of scrolling that's involved, but getting right into the text fields was nice. And man, the new browser is tons faster than the old. It puts the 4.2 browser to shame. I've gone back to 4.2 to wait for the official release.

    One more thing, MEMORY LEAK!!!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  2. #122
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    I dont have a memory leak besides a java error from bbm here and there it pretty much flawless

  3. #123
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    Quote Originally Posted by DCookSta View Post
    I said I wasn't going to do it, but I demo'd 4.5 on my 8300 for 2 days. The install took a long time (35-45 minutes), the BB was very picky about themes, but they weren't made for the version, so that was to be expected. I was up and down about the browser. I didn't really like the amount of scrolling that's involved, but getting right into the text fields was nice. And man, the new browser is tons faster than the old. It puts the 4.2 browser to shame. I've gone back to 4.2 to wait for the official release.

    One more thing, MEMORY LEAK!!!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    i heard that too...about the theme issue.

  4. #124
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331
    Quote Originally Posted by RSCStacker View Post
    I dont have a memory leak besides a java error from bbm here and there it pretty much flawless
    You know, surprisingly I had no errors at all. I did get repeated dropped signal, then it would pick back up. I think all my programs worked with no problems. None of them complained, even bbm.

    I found some areas that needed to be cleaned up, but I watched my memory drop all day long from about 16 mb all the way down to 3 mb when I uninstalled it.

  5. #125
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    Probably Cause I never really looked at my memory level, but none of my messages, texts or calls ever got erased

  6. #126
    rpol8052's Avatar
    rpol8052 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me!
    Posts
    561
    after putting the tcp settings in i still cant get youtube to work.... HELP!!!
    Before the settings all it did was show Loading at the bottom now it opens the player but then says error playing media.... HELP!!

  7. #127
    drucheex's Avatar
    drucheex no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    6
    youtube doesnt work for me? is there a specific way to do it or something. I did a battery pull and went to the website but no luck playing a video

  8. #128
    jbreidel's Avatar
    jbreidel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    241EDB49
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by drucheex View Post
    youtube doesnt work for me? is there a specific way to do it or something. I did a battery pull and went to the website but no luck playing a video
    is your TCP settings set correctly? Mine only worked on Wifi before I changed my TCP to wap.voicestream.com. then it worked on EDGE

  9. #129
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    Hey I can get to pinstack anymore after upgrading to 4.5 leak. It says it loaded the page and all i get is the pointer and a blank screen. any ideas????

  10. #130
    drucheex's Avatar
    drucheex no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by jbreidel View Post
    is your TCP settings set correctly? Mine only worked on Wifi before I changed my TCP to wap.voicestream.com. then it worked on EDGE
    k ill try that out

  11. #131
    twillingham's Avatar
    twillingham no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    240C83A8
    Posts
    126
    What provider uses tcp settings of voicestream~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #132
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffallen8 View Post
    Hey I can get to pinstack anymore after upgrading to 4.5 leak. It says it loaded the page and all i get is the pointer and a blank screen. any ideas????
    Hmmm....I haven't heard of anyone else having that problem!

  13. #133
    phild4000's Avatar
    phild4000 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by twillingham View Post
    What provider uses tcp settings of voicestream~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    T-mobile

  14. #134
    curveaddict2004's Avatar
    curveaddict2004 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4

    about os 4.5

    i just got my curve 8310 red about 6 days ago and it has 4.2 on it i was really thinking of going with the 4.5 beta but what should expect not to work
    and what will work i heard your rocking 4.5, does the html email work.

    Thanks curveaddict2004



    Quote Originally Posted by ItsNowOrNever View Post
    REMINDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! STOP ASKING HOW TO GET THE OS!!!!!! ITs going to get EVERYONE IN TROUBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! People have it---that's IT...Accept it. When it comes to you, it comes to you!!!! IT WILL BE OUT SOON!!!!!!!!! PLEASE DONT ASK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    I got ahold of the 8300 OS- let me say its freaking sweet!! Should be out soon as I have yet to see any bugs on this thing. ¤knock on wood¤. the video recording is awesome! Voice notes rocks....can't figure out documents to go, but haven't really played with it at all. The browser is sweet!!! With the calander, you can sync several emails,and have the option to show appointments only associated with one email, or see them all. If you are an admin assistant- perfect for managing everyones schedules.

    Yes, there are playlists in the media section. A few cool new fonts. L dimension theme.

    From what I understood of the "user agreement" we are not to ask or tell where we got this OS from or share it...so please dont ask because I wont share it.


    ((edit)) Here are the screen shots

    Home Screen (all icons, after you click the berry button from L dimension, cant get shot of L dimension----every time you click the button to do it, it pulls up all the icons, LOL)


    Video homescreen--getting ready to record video



    camera open, getting pic taken


    Calender


    Calendar options---shows the different emails that can be associated.


    Email recieved


    Edit Address book

  15. #135
    curveaddict2004's Avatar
    curveaddict2004 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4
    sorry about the triple post my browser had a problem guys

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •