Results 1 to 14 of 14

Hello, Within the last four days I have upgraded my T-Mobile 8320 from the stock ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    8320Curve's Avatar
    8320Curve no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    54

    Question 4.5 messaging charges on 8320

    Advertisement



    Hello,

    Within the last four days I have upgraded my T-Mobile 8320 from the stock 4.2 OS to the carrier release 4.5 from Orange. The OS is fantastic and works great.

    I am currently in Riyadh and in the last few days just setup my UMA router so I can call back to the US.

    Today I was looking at myt-mobile to see if the UMA calls were showing up and they are. As are some strange (eg not sent or received by me) messages that yesterday totaled $0.54 and today total $1.40.

    Here they are:

    07/28/08 NAA 10:27 AM 206-313-0004 1 07/28/08 NAA 10:27 AM 206-313-0004 1 07/26/08 NAA 08:13 AM 206-313-0004 1 07/26/08 NAA 08:13 AM 206-313-0004 1

    My question is - is there a "phone home" feature in the Orange OS that somehow sends a hidden text back to the carrier network for whatever reason? I know when I upgraded my T-Mobile Dash to another (foriegn) carriers firmware to get WM 6.1 that it did this. I had to wait for the official T-Mobile release to get WM 6.1.

    Am I crazy? Has anyone else noticed this at all? I did have to send ONE international text to another T-Mobile user in the US a few days ago and that is when I checked my "unbilled" or what ever items under current usage and it was 54 cents. Now today it has doubled.

    Anyone?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    BBEnriched's Avatar
    BBEnriched no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    111
    Are you getting any voicemails while you are over there? Voicemail notifications come from your carrier and may/may not come through while you are on UMA.

  3. #3
    8320Curve's Avatar
    8320Curve no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    54
    I have had two or three show up in the last month. I do not leave the phone on during the day (here) but only in the evening. I have not received a call while the phone was on that went to voicemail, rather on powering on the phone I have seen the voicemail indicator.

    Do they still make you pay for a "text" that is that notifier? Also, it has just been in the last few days that I noticed these, especially odd since they started the day I upgraded and have received no voicemails.
    Last edited by 8320Curve; 07-29-2008 at 09:43 AM.

  4. #4
    8320Curve's Avatar
    8320Curve no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by BBEnriched View Post
    Are you getting any voicemails while you are over there? Voicemail notifications come from your carrier and may/may not come through while you are on UMA.
    I leave the mobile network turned off (since I setup UMA) so I should get everything direct from T-Mobile over UMA, right?

  5. #5
    eyenstein2k2's Avatar
    eyenstein2k2 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    8
    did you delete the vendor xml during the upgrade?

  6. #6
    ganns1980's Avatar
    ganns1980 no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    853
    Quote Originally Posted by eyenstein2k2 View Post
    did you delete the vendor xml during the upgrade?
    If he didn't delete that, he wouldn't have been able to upgrade on a T-Mobile phone.

  7. #7
    eyenstein2k2's Avatar
    eyenstein2k2 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    8
    You're right my 8320 is unlocked.

  8. #8
    8320Curve's Avatar
    8320Curve no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    54
    yes, the handset is unlocked and i did delete the vendor file. now say i did not and installed on an unlocked phone would it send the messages then?

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Quote Originally Posted by 8320Curve View Post
    yes, the handset is unlocked and i did delete the vendor file. now say i did not and installed on an unlocked phone would it send the messages then?
    No, locked or unlocked does not affect the OS, and you cannot install the OS on a device unless you 1) delete the vendor file, or 2) are using the OS released by the same carrier as the device is branded.

    Additionally I Googled the number and found quiet a few disturbing reports similar to yours....all seem related to TMO accounts and apparently the 206# is the TMO Message Center Number....It also appears that this may be related to roaming or traveling overseas...

    Suggest you report this issue to TMO and let us know if you find a solution.
    Last edited by GaryF; 07-29-2008 at 11:49 AM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    8320Curve's Avatar
    8320Curve no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    54
    thanks Gary

  11. #11
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    I'm looking into this. However t-mobile isn't confirming that it'll work overseas. Ill check into a few things about that number. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    This is something I found but I'm still looking


    I was able to get an explaination from T-Mobile why this number wasappearing. Found that it happens frequently when on a non-T-Mobiletower that the number the text message is relayed through (a T-Mobilenumber) is all that ends up getting passed on the alternate tower. So,no harm, no foul it would seem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    8320Curve's Avatar
    8320Curve no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    54
    so is it possible to have the same message passed via different towers to one number? also, where did these come from? i did not send or receive them.

  14. #14
    8320Curve's Avatar
    8320Curve no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    54
    Gary - just read through a few sites about this. I have sent an email to T-Mobile CS. I get the same "message sent or received while the phone is off" that others are seeing. Odd that it happens right after I upgrade and start using UMA exclusively.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •