Page 22 of 27 FirstFirst ... 17181920212223242526 ... LastLast
Results 316 to 330 of 405

Okay, I wiped the phone. I uninstalled/removed OS 4.2 and 4.3. Now, should I REINSTALL ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #316
    takadante's Avatar
    takadante no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    24B2C963
    Posts
    441

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    Advertisement



    Okay, I wiped the phone. I uninstalled/removed OS 4.2 and 4.3. Now, should I REINSTALL the OS I want to use?

  2. #317
    josem's Avatar
    josem no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by alwaysbelieve1 View Post
    How exactly do I load the jl cmdr software? I thought it loads on the phone? Is this a PC app? If so please, please tell me how to make it work. Whenever I click on the icon for it all it does is quickly flash a black DOS looking like screen in front of my face and then it goes away. It goes way to quickly to read.

    I already uninstalled 4.3 from my PC and all I need to do is install a 4.2 OS then, but it won't connect to DM.

    Please advise.
    yes it's a pc app. This is how i do it...someone can correct me if im wrong...first dl the file, extract it, then double click on the jl install.cmd file...that is the file that flashes. Then double click on JL_Cmder.cmd. That file should open up a new window. Follow the instructions fromt then on.

  3. #318
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    you load it on to your PC, then double click the shortcut created on the desktop...opens up a dos looking windown that is in the shape of a bb. plug bb in and follow the prompts to wipe

    you need to install the 4.2.1.xxx OS and uninstall 4.3
    don't forget to delete the vendor.xml file, or it might not prompt
    if it still doesn't seem to 'connect, double click application loader anyway. still doesn't pick up the OS, click next, then next thru the wizard to see if app loader lists the os to be installed.

  4. #319
    josem's Avatar
    josem no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    when i did this i then wiped my phone and also restored it to factory settings. TRUST me this thing puts the hour glass on your berry for a while even after the it says completed. When i say a while i mean i did that to mine this morning to install 4.3.1 and it took a LONG time to come back. you'll have that hourglass for spin and spin w/out it really doing anything else. I have an extra berry so i was willing to try all this but just keep in mind you'll be removing everything.

  5. #320
    alwaysbelieve1's Avatar
    alwaysbelieve1 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    835

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    Ok it's not wiping it. cause it won't connect.
    Bob Garon II, Kettlebell Coach

    Fitness Has Nothing To Do With Looking Good.
    BobGaronTraining.com

    Follow Me At:
    Twitter
    Facebook

  6. #321
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    AB -- what state is your berry in right this moment?

  7. #322
    alwaysbelieve1's Avatar
    alwaysbelieve1 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    835

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    even if I get it to wipe how do I get it to connect to the DM if there's no OS on there to put a new OS on there?
    -------
    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo View Post
    AB -- what state is your berry in right this moment?
    Arizona.

    J/k gotta have a sense of humor right. LOL


    It says the app error 200 and a white screen with the error in the middle.
    Last edited by alwaysbelieve1; 11-12-2007 at 01:07 AM. Reason: Automerged.
    Bob Garon II, Kettlebell Coach

    Fitness Has Nothing To Do With Looking Good.
    BobGaronTraining.com

    Follow Me At:
    Twitter
    Facebook

  8. #323
    josem's Avatar
    josem no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by alwaysbelieve1 View Post
    even if I get it to wipe how do I get it to connect to the DM if there's no OS on there to put a new OS on there?
    you can downgrade to a previous OS. do you have any previous OS like .107?

  9. #324
    alwaysbelieve1's Avatar
    alwaysbelieve1 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    835

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by josem View Post
    you can downgrade to a previous OS. do you have any previous OS like .107?

    Ok no one is understanding me!!! If the BB is wiped and there is nothing on it, not even an OS, then how do I get it to connect to put the new OS on it?

    Furthermore I can't even get it to wipe anyway.
    Bob Garon II, Kettlebell Coach

    Fitness Has Nothing To Do With Looking Good.
    BobGaronTraining.com

    Follow Me At:
    Twitter
    Facebook

  10. #325
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    ok, connect bb to PC
    open DM
    double click app loader (pay no attention to connection settings)
    click next
    when prompted to add, click next...
    tell me what happens?

  11. #326
    takadante's Avatar
    takadante no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    24B2C963
    Posts
    441

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by alwaysbelieve1 View Post
    Ok no one is understanding me!!! If the BB is wiped and there is nothing on it, not even an OS, then how do I get it to connect to put the new OS on it?

    Furthermore I can't even get it to wipe anyway.
    I get what your saying. You think that if there is no OS, that the DM wont detect it? I don't know either. Im testing it out right now.

    Why can't you wipe it? What does it say?

  12. #327
    alwaysbelieve1's Avatar
    alwaysbelieve1 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    835

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    Gimme a minute. I have to walk away from this or my new Vista computer will get thrown across the room. I'll be back in 2 min.
    Bob Garon II, Kettlebell Coach

    Fitness Has Nothing To Do With Looking Good.
    BobGaronTraining.com

    Follow Me At:
    Twitter
    Facebook

  13. #328
    takadante's Avatar
    takadante no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    24B2C963
    Posts
    441

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo View Post
    ok, connect bb to PC
    open DM
    double click app loader (pay no attention to connection settings)
    click next
    when prompted to add, click next...
    tell me what happens?
    Im in the same situation. I did what you said and it says 'No Actions Required'. Then again I havent installed the new OS yet =/

  14. #329
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    um, well...once you install the OS, then it will say something

  15. #330
    takadante's Avatar
    takadante no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    24B2C963
    Posts
    441

    Re: 4.3 on 8100

    Alright...I'm not really that worried. I knew testing and reporting on the 4.3 would have consequences..

    Lets hope the OS loads though....

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •